cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

melvisplus
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-09-2014

plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

hi
i suddenly cant connect to plex media server.i never used to have a problem with this server but i cant connect to it now .plex forums say i have to check whether my router supports upnp or NAT-PMP
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

Is this from INSIDE your network or from outside (ie away from home)?
If it is inside then the ip address has probably changed. If outside then it may be upnp related, it is normally on but check in the router setup screens (192.168.1.254)
melvisplus
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-09-2014

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

hi
the problem is from inside the house i recently reinstalled windows and it worked after but suddenly stopped
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

Windows firewall?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

OK if it is inside then it has nowt to do with the router, that is a red herring.
As above make sure that the plex ports are open on your LOCAL pc firewall, double check the ip address is the same, have you installed any extra s/w since it was working?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,382
Thanks: 5
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

Do some PN routers not already run a DLNA server ?  If they are on the same ports as the Plex server it may cause issues.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

i run a plex server in my local network with the TG582N and have no issues at all.
no ports needs opened on the router (even for external access).
it's all done via uPNP, so make sure that is enabled on the router.
by default, plex server uses port 32400 for internal traffic.
make sure that port is open on you local system level firewall.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

Yeah I run Plex and it works absolutely fine on my Technicolor.
Make sure your Firewall isn't blocking it or any of your antivirus programs that have firewalls built into them.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
melvisplus
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-09-2014

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

hi
i have disabled both window firewall and my anti virus but plex still saying cant connect to servers .How do i check the plex ports are open on my firewall and check the ip address is the same ,i am not that good at this kind of thing ,help much appreciated .
mick
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

Lets start with the basics:
1.  Has anything changed in your setup?  You say it used to work and has only stopped working after a Windows rebuild on your PC so this seems to be where to look first.
2.  Has this worked with the PN router prior to the Windows re-install?  If so, and you haven't made any changes to the router then this also points at your PC.
3.  Where is your Plex server?  Another PC, a NAS or something else?  Is the server cabled to the router or is the connection wireless?
4.  Is the connection to your PC wired or wireless?  If the answer to 3 or 4 is wireless, connect everything to the router via ethernet cables for now.
Please give as much detail as possible about what your system is as we can't see it  Wink
melvisplus
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-09-2014

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

hi
my pc is the plex server and is where all the movie files and music are stored etc.Plex worked after re-install of windows on the PN router .in addition to this my pc has always been wired via ethernet to my PN router .
regards
mike
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

Where is the client that is trying to access Plex?  On a wired or wireless connection?
Again, what has changed in your setup and can you fully describe your setup?
melvisplus
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-09-2014

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

hi
its on a wired connection from my desk top
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

So it's not the router then as the server and client are both connected via the switch part of the router.
I can't help any more I'm afraid as you really aren't giving much away Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: plex media server not working with plusnet Technicolor router

stop drip feeding information and answer ALL the questions that have been asked.