cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

noise margin

will2012
Grafter
Posts: 110
Registered: 03-12-2012

noise margin

Hi,
My noise margin is currently set at 9db, Plusnet please could you set this to 6db?
Thanks very much
3 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: noise margin

Hi will2012,
I've posted a graph of your connection, it looks like some of the disconnections may have been caused by you?
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13566931364516.png"/>
We'd need to see a bit more stability than this to place a SNR reset and reduce the dB. Leave your connection on and see how it is over the next 24 hours or so and then we can go from there.
Chris
will2012
Grafter
Posts: 110
Registered: 03-12-2012

Re: noise margin

Hi,
Yes, the one today was me, the one yesterday was the router after they had done what they needed to do to fix the connection.
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,823
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: noise margin

mine was stable for 6 days with BT set my SNR at 2.0dB at the local exchange (previous was 3.0dB) nice work BT. The line was disconnected once 6 days ago due to change from Plusnet Premium to Plusnet Unlimited.