cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

nobbled router software

richardg8jvm
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 06-11-2015

nobbled router software

Hi
just on line with plusnet and a supplied wireless router, and before it went live I went on to the Sagem site and downloaded a user manual.
I see however that the software features of the router are drastically reduced, and I now cant use all the IP cameras outside as they are on another subnet,and have fixed ip addresses.
and I cant find anywhere on the router software that allows a change of the LAN/WLAN subnet.
Everyman and his dog uses 192.168.0.x and 192.168.1.x, so its a security hazard to use it.
Is there any codes that can be sent to the modem to re-activate all the modem features, or have I got to now go and buy another wireless modem that I can change the
LAN/WLAN subnet.
TIA
Richard
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,094
Thanks: 454
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: nobbled router software

I hear that some of the features can be accessed by the expert user page, described here: https://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,135846.msg1197376.html#msg1197376
I think changing the IP address range isn't going to add any meaningful amount of security though.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: nobbled router software

ejs has linked to the thread where it was mentioned, it's http://192.168.1.254/expert_user.html
You can change it's IP address as well. Yes the features are drastically reduced Roll eyes There are also a few issues and a few threads around on the hardware board about the problems and some occasional solutions.
As you are on ADSL can I suggest you do a copy and paste of the Helpdesk page before rushing off to do anything - however, redact lines 2, 20, 21 and 26. We can then offer some sensible advice.
richardg8jvm
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 06-11-2015

Re: nobbled router software

Thanks, that now has everything on the same subnet.
Using an odd subnet just makes thinks a little harder for anyone tring to get in, maybe a just a delay, but maybe enough so they get bored.
now to see if I can find dhcp reserve address table
cheers
Richard
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: nobbled router software

Unless you are nice and close to the exchange and on a 21CN connection, you could end if with a problem if you end up rebooting a few times.