cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new router suggestions anyone?

oddjob
Dabbler

new router suggestions anyone?

We have four or five computers active at any given time, a mix of XP and W7 O/S.
The main PC (mine) is hard wired to the router. All others are wireless.  I would like that setup to continue.
Running through an oldish Netgear DG834PN router.
Would like to improve security and range as some areas of the building have poor wireless reception.
Any suggestions?
Preferably a router with easy setup as I'm not that technically minded with hardware!  Roll_eyes
Thanks for any tips.
21 REPLIES 21
tijara33
Pro
Fixes: 6

Re: new router suggestions anyone?

Like you I'm not technically minded & I'm delighted with my Asus RT-N56U. It was straightforward to set up & I'm running 2 laptops, a Nexus 7 & a Nexus 10 wirelessly, with my printer & my WD My Book Live wired. I'm using both the 2.4 & 5 Ghz channels with the latter being slightly faster. It's positioned 2 floors & 2 rooms away from where I'm now sitting & there's absolutely no speed drop.
Bright
Grafter

What's your internet connection - ADSL, cable or fibre? ie does it need to include an ADSL modem?
oddjob
Dabbler

@ tijara33 - thanks for that. Will have a look.
@Bright - our current router is described as a "Wireless ADSL Router Peripheral ... with an integral ADSL modem".
tstaddon
Rising Star

Sounds like my setup.
To be honest, it might not turn out very economical to go beyond N150 on the XP machines - USB1, driver issues and CPU limitations might mean you're just limited to what the PCs can do anyway so that's worth checking. Also, if your wifi reception issues are due to walls and the like perhaps you'd be better off with a powerline wi-fi extender.
If you really do need some oomph and your more powerful Win7 PCs are all gigabit/wireless N and all relatively near to where the router sits, I'd be tempted to get the Asus, or failing that perhaps one of these...