cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new router slower speeds?

AJJ
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-04-2011

new router slower speeds?

Hi,
I had a trusted TG585 v7 that was connecting at over 4mbs with a 3.5mb profile (great for my line). But when I tried to do some port forwarrding for games it kept rebooting so I decided to invest in a new one. A Belkin wireless N150. On plugging it in it synced at about 3mb, then I needed to reboot it and it dropped to 2mb, overnight it rebooted again and Im now at a sync speed of 1.6mb.
Have I got an iffy new router? I would hope that a new router should at least sync at the same sort of speed I was enjoying before?
Any ideas?
Thanks
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: new router slower speeds?

It should (more or less) - please post the full router stats
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: new router slower speeds?

Hi AJJ,
I changed my router from a v7 to a netgear and also found a drop in connection speed. It could be to do with the time of day/SNR. Your stats will help.
Jojo Smiley
AJJ
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: new router slower speeds?

what do you make of these? (sorry about the formatting)

Type Interleave Path
  Status SHOWTIME
   
Downstream Upstream

  Data rate(Kbps)
1720Kb 447Kb

  Noise Margin
3 16

  Output power(dBm)
126 168

  Attenuation(dB)
65 33
AJJ
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: new router slower speeds?

Also,
got this from the security log:
09/19/2011 16:43:24 If(ATM1) PPP connection ok !
09/19/2011 16:43:23 ATM1 get IP:31.185.42.137
09/19/2011 16:43:22 ATM1 start PPP
09/19/2011 16:43:21 ADSL Media Up !
09/19/2011 16:42:53 ATM1 stop PPP
09/19/2011 16:42:53 ADSL Media Down !
09/19/2011 14:00:52 DDNS> Updated IP 31.185.42.137 Successfully.
09/19/2011 14:00:52 If(ATM1) PPP connection ok !
09/19/2011 14:00:50 ATM1 get IP:31.185.42.137
09/19/2011 14:00:45 ATM1 start PPP
09/19/2011 14:00:45 If(ATM1) PPP fail : Timeout in CHAP negotiation
09/19/2011 14:00:11 ATM1 start PPP
09/19/2011 14:00:11 If(ATM1) PPP fail : Peer terminate
09/19/2011 14:00:09 ATM1 start PPP
09/19/2011 11:47:13 NTP Date/Time updated.
but no one was in using the broadband. Have I missed something in the basic configuration for this router?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: new router slower speeds?

When I tried the Netgear  DG834G v5  my sync speed dropped 500kbps when compared to the DG834G v4 due to the different chipset and it is quite likely the Belkin has the same problem as it may not have a  Broadcom chipset like my DG834G v4 and your TG585 which are good on long lines
However that isn't your problem
Something has wacked up the reported attenuation which, as you haven't moved house, is probably either a dodgy router or cable
AJJ
Grafter
Posts: 42
Registered: 19-04-2011

Re: new router slower speeds?

well OldJim,
you are indeed correct. I removed all of my network cables and then hunted through some old routers to find a new ADSL cable (whats the difference between the 4 core ones and 2 cores? - dont say 2 wires please!)
and plugged it back into the ADSL filtered face plate this morning and it came up a 4mb! Not happy with the fact that the new router comes with such a poor cable?
now just to plug the network ones back in one at a time and see if that has any affect!