cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

low moise margin causing constant resyncs

rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Hi,
I seem to be getting connection drops several times a day, please could someone from plusnet take a  look at the stats for my line and see if there is anything suspect going on?
Uptime: 0 days, 0:03:20
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 447 / 13,693
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 21.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.0 / 34.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.0 / 3.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 23 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 37 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 342 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 28,226
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,441 / 0

Thanks
Tony
14 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Constant resyncs

Hi rockfall,
These are the drops we're seeing here, if you are seeing more than that then maybe you can connect via ethernet if you are using wireless, to see if that's the cause.
I notice there are consistent drops at 8am and 11pm. Is there anything you think might cause this?
Jojo Smiley
rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

Re: Constant resyncs

I cant think of anything i do regularly at 8am or 11pm that would cause consistent connection drops.
I am currently connected to the extension socket, I will plug into the master socket for a few days to see if i still get dropouts.
Thanks
Tony
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Constant resyncs

Hi rockfall,
It may not be something you do, it may be your central heating etc, anything that could be on a timer etc. It may just be a coincidence . As far as the extension goes, there will always be less trouble when you are not using one.
Jojo Smiley
rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

Re: Constant resyncs

It seems that every time my noise margin drops below 2.5db the fec errors go up into the 50 million mark and the router drops the connection 
If it keeps dropping like this then i might end up on a banded profile, is there anyway to fix the noise margin at around 6db? would line training help?
Thanks
Tony
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

HI Tony,
I have applied what's called a soft override which has set the downstream target SNR to 6dB for you.
Hope that helps
Jojo Smiley
rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Many thanks, I'll see how it goes.
Tony
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Yeah, I'd be interested to see if that fixes it for you. Keep me informed,
Thanks
Jojo Smiley
rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Hi,
It doesnt seem to have fixed it, the connection is still dropping, here are the stats:
Uptime: 0 days, 0:30:05
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 14,333
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 21.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.0 / 34.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.5 / 3.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 23 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 2 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 56 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 757,354
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,475 / 2

Could it just be an issue with thomson 585 routers? would it be worth trying a different brand or is there still a fault on the line?
Thanks
Tony
Force9Original
Grafter
Posts: 352
Registered: 05-02-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Quote from: rockfall

Could it just be an issue with thomson 585 routers? would it be worth trying a different brand or is there still a fault on the line?Thanks Tony

Pairing the router  Chipset to the exchange  is definitely worth a try.
Texas Instrument chipset (TI)  at the exchange  (TSTC)   so a TI -AR7 based router would be good test bed.
Something like a  Netgear DG834g (Version 1, 2 and 3 have AR7 Chipset,  not version 4)  or a  ZyXEL Prestige 660  are a cheap & easy options of feebay.   Wink
(Some more AR7's on Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TI-AR7 )
f9o
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Hi Tony,
That's stumped me that has. I'll contact BT get to work in the morning and try to find out how come it's still 3
Jojo Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Hi Tony,
Apparently it can take up to 24 hours to take effect, so when they told me they'd done it I think they meant it was ordered. Let me know what it's like a bit later and we'll take it from there.
Jojo Smiley
rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

OK, will do.
Many thanks
Tony
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

HI Tony,
Doesn't look like it's taken effect yet so I'm going to chase it up for you today.
Jojo Smiley
rockfall
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 27-08-2010

Re: low moise margin causing constant resyncs

Hi,
It was ok for the first few days but the noise margin is still going down to 0db and it's dropping the connection. Is there anything else that could be done?
Thanks
Tony