cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

pint
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

Im a little confused over speeds etc, and as with most things that i dont htink are working right, im itching to have a faff around with things.
First a little background..
I requested an upgrade/re grade to ADSL2,  this appeared to happen and everythig was OK(ish) shortly after this my router would no connect to the internet, after various tests an engineer from BT openrach came round, and said the problem was the modem ( despite firring a new master socket - replacing an anceint BT plug and small rectangular box )
Shortly after this visit everythuing came back on again.
After speaking with plusnet they sent me a new router ( TG582n) that is now connected and running.
However the connection stats saay this
(Plusnet memebr centre )
Quote
Estimated line speed:
    15Mb (This may vary between 8.5Mb and 19Mb) - Checked on 2013-01-14 19:11:51
Current line speed:
    2.5 Mb

Speed test.net is roughly at this level.
my router stats say this
Quote
Uptime: 1 day, 0:43:45
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 13.755
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 79,00 / 1,15
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,1 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 11,2 / 25,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26,5 / 6,1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 397 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 31 / 58.432
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 6 / 1.561
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 15 / 42.124

Are those speds normal?
will they improve over time from 2.5mb to somewhere in the estimate (8.5-19mb)?
do i need to try and improve the atenuation/internal wiring to get a better signal to the router?
6 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,217
Thanks: 1,576
Fixes: 172
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

Something is wrong, can you run a BT speed test to see what their profile is for your line.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,839
Thanks: 118
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

Your router is connecting at 13755kbps.  So the best practical speed you could achieve (your IP Profile) should be 12.1 Mbps.  Unfortunately as a result of your initial problems Plusnet are restricting your speed to something much less than this.  They don't really mean to do this but their system cannot keep up.  If you call Plusnet tech. support and explain I think they can manually raise your profile to the 12.1 Mbps it should be.   
pint
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

Ive just run the Bt wholesale speed test - it says this:
Quote
1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
2.36 Mbps

0 Mbps 21 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 2.36 Mbps

For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 12.19 Mbps


also dropped this as a ticket to plusnet, hope for an answer soon
pint
Grafter
Posts: 384
Thanks: 6
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

Is it me, or has the ticket system changd over the years?
im sure it was a much quicker and easier way of getting in touch once upon a time, intead of phoning.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,217
Thanks: 1,576
Fixes: 172
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

your current line speed and the bt profile aren't matched which is the problem, you should be able to give them a call and get it resolved over the phone.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: line speed lower than estimated speed - confused, do i need to do anything?

Hi pint,
I've bumped your profile according to your sync rate so you should now see the correct speeds.