cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ip address

danielmclean
Grafter
Posts: 79
Thanks: 5
Registered: 17-08-2015

ip address

is there a way to stop plusnet giving my broadband us ip addresses  ?


this mucks up sure signal plug 
3 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: ip address

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: ip address

Your choices are either pay a one off £5 for a static IP which (shouldn't, unless they've started using that pool for them) be an American* IP address, or log in to your router, disconnect, wait a while (5 minutes is a safe bet) and re-connect to get a different IP.
* I don't care that Plusnet bought the IP range, the addresses are still controlled by ARIN and not RIPE and are American IP addresses.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: ip address

The various databases should be updated, but if you read the thread I linked, for reporting such addresses, in detail, you'd see that some organisations are extremely slow in updating, some needing a bit of a kick.