cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

improing m upload speed?

teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

improing m upload speed?

hello everyone.
i'd like to have a better upload speed, i heard that our upload speeds were capped around 0.44, so i just added the pro add on for gaming thinking it would improve my upload but it is still capped at 0.44 when i did the speed test.
is there another way to get this uncapped.
Help would be appriciated.
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: improing m upload speed?

Can you post your router stats? (Sync speed etc.)
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

i knew to this so i dont really know how to post my router stats
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: improing m upload speed?

Try this (assuming you have the latest Plusnet router) - http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/technicolor-582n-faqs.shtml#lineStats
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

HOW DO I POST IT OVER. THANKS
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

DSL Connection 
Link Information
   

Uptime: 1 day, 14:51:36

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2.496

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 785,80 / 1,83


Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: improing m upload speed?

Put your details in here and report what it says about WBC on 21CN http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

Exchange Status Checker
Results: Weston-super-Mare Code: SSWSM
County: Avon
Enabled: 12 Jul 2001
Market: 3
Mkt2014: B

20CN VP capacity at this exchange is currently showing as Green.
Click here for further details 
BT have advised that this exchange is enabled for WBC on 21CN 
You can view recent Service Outages for this exchange here 
BT have published Max DSL upgrade information for this exchange
Click here for further details 
Bookmark this exchange here
Back to exchange search
Mkt2014 is the new market classification proposed in the Ofcom consultation paper Review of the wholesale broadband access markets published on 11/07/2013. This is given here for information only; there is no guarantee that Ofcom will adopt these classifications at the end of the consultation, and they might change any assigned values. Also how Plusnet will use them is to be announced.

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: improing m upload speed?

It is likely that you are on 20CN and as such can't have the speed uncapped
This will need a member of staff to confirm and, if this is the case, initiate the move to 21CN
If you are already on 21CN then the upload just needs uncapping
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

Is this something plusnet can do for me?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: improing m upload speed?

Yes
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

also what is 20cn and 21cn
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: improing m upload speed?

21CN is BT's newer network (21st Century Network) - it has more capacity and supports newer services like fibre. 20CN is BT's older network.
I believe you're on ADSL Max from your router stats (G.992.1) which I think means you might not have been moved across to 21CN.
Have you also looked at if fibre is available in your area?
teresa83
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 11-03-2014

Re: improing m upload speed?

fibe is ready in my area i will be upgrading to it tommorrow.
i just wanted better upload while im waiing for it to be installed to be able to use twitch
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: improing m upload speed?

Upgrading as in the install will happen tomorrow or will you order tomorrow?
I am not entirely sure how much of an improvement you will see in your upload speed on your ADSL - because you obviously live a fair distance from your exchange.
Is Twitch like Youtube? You shouldn't have any problems with that with your ADSL connection. I don't think uncapping your upload (if you're moved to 21CN) will make any difference. On noisy lines (like yours), uncapping the upload can be counter-productive and cause instability on the line.