cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

https pages on homepages?

jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

https pages on homepages?

Is this possible?
I need to change some pages on my website to https before the BT Webwise/Phorm trial starts because there is currently no other way to block them monitoring traffic with removing your site from all search engines using a blanket robots.txt exclusion.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
6 REPLIES 6
MickKi
Grafter
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: https pages on homepages?

Well, you can set up the pages in your httpsdocs directory and configure your VirtualHosts file accordingly; e.g.
[tt]<VirtualHost *:443>
        ServerName your.website.com
        DocumentRoot /var/www/
        ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log
        CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined
        SSLEngine on
        SSLCertificateFile /etc/apache2/ssl/apache.pem
</VirtualHost>[/tt]
If the filestructure is convoluted then leave them where they are and set up a rewrite rule in your respective .htaccess files.  If you want it for the whole website then set up the rewrite rule in your httpd.conf file.  Try something like this:
[tt]RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^$ [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^your\.website\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) https://your.website.com$1 [L,R=301]
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} !^on$ [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) https://your.website.com$1 [L,R=301][/tt]
Or better move the lot in httpdocs.  Anyway, that's what I would look into I think, but your mileage may vary.  Google the above to be sure that I am not recommending anything too unorthodox.
HTH.
--
Regards,
Mick
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: https pages on homepages?

I think Jelv is referring to his PlusNet hompages (www) webspace on which he has no control over virtual hosts.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: https pages on homepages?

Do I gather the answer is a no?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MickKi
Grafter
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎30-09-2007

Re: https pages on homepages?

Sorry Jelv, I have not used the PN homepages to know what you can and cannot set up from your control panel GUI.  Hope some one else with relevant experience advises on this one.
Just out of curiosity, how is Phorm related to webpages you are hosting (rather than the browsing privacy of the persons visiting them)?
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: https pages on homepages?

The nature of the website I run (a parent support group for problem related to Autism) is such that I consider who is visiting my site very sensitive information. It is therefore wholly inappropriate for any third party to intercept the traffic, and particularly data in a member registration form (there is no financial implication which is why I've not been too bothered about it not being https until now). I would therefore wish totally block Phorm. Unfortunately, BT/Phorm are totally refusing to tell webmasters how this can be achieved without totally blocking all search engines as well - they won't give us an agent identifier that can be put in robots.txt.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: https pages on homepages?

I'm pretty sure the answer is no because plusnet do not offer a full HTTPS service.
What I mean is you can access your webspace using https://homepages.plus.net/username/ but not as https://www.username.plus.com or https://www.domain.tld and whatever you do, you can still access your www webpages using www.username.plus.com or www.domain.tld as you do now.

[edit to add]
If you just want to use secure forms then this is possible - see here.