cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how connect new Netgear router

reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

how connect new Netgear router

Have tried all possible settings to no avail.
Netgear N300
Is broadband password always same as main account?
Was using sky supplied router but connection frequently dropped and unable to use appletv for streaming to tv.
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Have you entered the login name correctly? It's most likely to be username@plusdsl.net
See https://portal.plus.net/my.html?s=0&action=refresh_browser for confirmation.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,600
Thanks: 3,874
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Hi reddb900,
A warm welcome to the firums.
Alternatively, using the sky router, follow the guidance in the speed issues thread (see link below) and post here the requested information.  Is the phone line quiet?  Dial 17070 option 2.
reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

yes have login details correct
will try sky test later today
reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

How do I confirm correct password to use?
I used the resend password form and entered it with no success
Is it definitely the same as plusnet member login pw?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 260
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Yes, the password is the same, the username is different.  As mentoned above it should be username@plusdsl.net
It took a couple of times before it worked on my router when I set it up.
reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Yes username on router is in the correct format
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

So you can access the router?  using admin and password?  (standard Netgear)
Then in adsl settings you complete  LOGIN as      username@plusdsl.net      and password  (your  plusnet password - same as you would use to access the speed link at the bottom of this post.
Tell us what happens next  - what lights are shown on your router - all wires connected?
reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Yes can access router and made various settings changes to no avail
green lights on router
I will confirm later this evening
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 176
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Don't you have a PN router?
/coat
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Sky router statistics
ROUTER STATISTICS
System Up Time: 21:07:10
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 21703 21715 0 8144 46464 0:18:12
LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 21:07:10
WLAN Up 2137169 2036259 0 0 10621 21:06:48
Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 24256 kbps 1279 kbps
Line Attenuation 6.0 dB 5.1 dB
Noise Margin 3.0 dB 7.1 dB
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

That looks ok - does it connect to the internet?
Is that up time  21 hours ??  If that is correct you must have been connected on the Sky router  when you were trying the Netgear one?
unless I am missing something
What model Sky router is that?
reddb990
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: how connect new Netgear router

Sky router connected at moment
Was working on new netgear router to the wee small hours last night!
Sky sagemcom router
Only changing as experiencing intermittent Internet and unable to operate appletv
Plusnet advised change away from sky router
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,600
Thanks: 3,874
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: how connect new Netgear router

I think we need to take a step back here.
The initial post read like it was a response to something earlier.  Has something gone on before the first post in this thread?  The sky stats look excellent.  Can you access in the internet with the sky router?
When you have the reported connectivity issues, are you connecting via wifi or via an Ethernet cable with wifi on that device explicitly disabled?  This could be a wifi issue!