cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

had speed issues but also wondering how to connect to the bt gateway/modem

my53rdchoice
Grafter
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-04-2013

had speed issues but also wondering how to connect to the bt gateway/modem

hi,
my internet speed as utterly died for no known reason.
I have connectivity and PN are saying it is synced at nearly 80meg but most websites time out or take an age to download.
It's not a DNS issue (tried different settings)
Restarted all boxes
been ongoing for just under 12 hours
not an internal issue as internal connects are fine (streaming movies from a server to the TV)
affects wired and wireless connections on all machines the same
I have raised a fault with PN so I will see what they say.
However, on a different thing, does anyone know how to connect to the 1st gateway router that BT install?
I connect to and monitor the PN switch a fair bit but I was wondering how to connect to the BT router?
ta
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

Windows 7 instructions here: http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/fibre-help-how-to-set-up-a-pppoe-dialler-in-vistawindows...
Incidently the BT box is a modem and the Plusnet box is a router.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

Hi my53rdchoice,
I'd certainly try a PPPoE connection as advised by jelv to see if there's any difference as your sync speeds are showing 80Mb/s.
my53rdchoice
Grafter
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-04-2013

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

Ok tried connecting direct to the modem
No difference at all and the error persists
Tried doing a check at www.speedtest.btwholesale.com and after 10 mins it's showing 170000 byes uploaded and 500000 bytes downloaded and the screen hasn't refreshed after starting the test.
It is Kaput
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

We're currently testing your connection, our faults team will pick your ticket up and let you know the outcome.
my53rdchoice
Grafter
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-04-2013

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

Hmmmm,
I think the faults process is about making your customers feel like mushrooms.
The ticket says give us 24 hours and the call said leave it 72 hours.
But that leaves me without Internet and stuck waiting to know if this will get fixed and what has gone wrong.
It doesn't inspire me either given the bloody awful migration I endured that 2 weeks later the fibre connection is kaput.
Is this how it is going to be till I get fed up and leave?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

Sorry to hear you feel that way. this is with our faults team and somebody will be in-touch shortly.
my53rdchoice
Grafter
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-04-2013

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

Faults team have asked me to connect to the router directly - already done - made on difference
Faults team said I am showing as connected and at full speed - I know that but it aint working
Faults team said I have that I need to run a speed test - I can't the site times out.
my53rdchoice
Grafter
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-04-2013

Re: No speed + how to connect to gateway

back home and connection is now back up to full strength
down - 73.59
up - 16.03
ping - 29.38
nominally worse speeds than originally set up but the ping has doubled.
Have done the BT tests and submitted them
Will monitor connection for now and wonder if anything was done in the background
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,750
Thanks: 267
Fixes: 78
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: had speed issues but also wondering how to connect to the bt gateway/modem

Cheers for letting us know,  so just let us know if you have any more issues with this:
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team