cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

gateway hop on FTTC

Blim
Grafter
Posts: 462
Registered: 06-03-2012

gateway hop on FTTC

Hey,
I haven't got my fibre yet but I just had a thought while looking at my ping. Is it possible to hop gateway while on FTTC? I understand the modem is BT's equipment, will I be able to login to the modem and read status and/or disconnect and re-connect?

Thanks
6 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,576
Thanks: 1,852
Fixes: 234
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: gateway hop on FTTC

You can disconnect your ppp session in the router.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Bald_Eagle1
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 24-06-2011

Re: gateway hop on FTTC

Quote from: Blim

I haven't got my fibre yet but I just had a thought while looking at my ping. Is it possible to hop gateway while on FTTC? I understand the modem is BT's equipment, will I be able to login to the modem and read status and/or disconnect and re-connect?


Plusnet will supply the router & BT will supply the modem.
The router will not provide the usual/familiar connection stats.
Gateway hopping can be achieved by disconnecting/reconnecting via the router, without actually causing the modem to resync.
Officially, the modem is locked down so connection stats cannot be obtained.
Unofficially the modem can be unlocked via a freely available firmware update & then all the connection's stats can be obtained (& graphed if required).
mushy
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 16-10-2012

Re: gateway hop on FTTC


Unofficially the modem can be unlocked via a freely available firmware update & then all the connection's stats can be obtained (& graphed if required).

Is that possible for the new ECI modems B-FOCuS V-2FUb/r Rev. B ?
Blim
Grafter
Posts: 462
Registered: 06-03-2012

Re: gateway hop on FTTC

OK thanks, just thought Id check this before its too late.
I didn't select the router when I ordered my upgrade because I wasn't sure if it was just a firmware modded modem or not. I've got a router with PPPoE but its bit old. Saying that it does had DD-WRT firmware and QoS so it should be good. I don't use the  duel band wireless n but house mates will. just ordered some new cables so I should be all geared up ready.
Bald_Eagle1
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 24-06-2011

Re: gateway hop on FTTC

Quote from: mushy

Is that possible for the new ECI modems B-FOCuS V-2FUb/r Rev. B ?

Sorry, I should have stated the Huawei HG612 modem can be unlocked via a freely available firmware update & then all the connection's stats can be obtained (& graphed if required).
Apparently both versions of ECI modem can now be unlocked, but from remotely monitoring an unlocked original version, the data harvesting isn't too reliable yet & is in a completely different format than the HG612's typical Broadcom format.:-

=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= Plink log 2012.10.13 23:00:51 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=


login as: admin
password:
BusyBox v1.00 (2011.08.09-03:28+0000) Built-in shell (msh)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lspbg 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 LATN[0]=132 LATN[1]=305 LATN[2]=489 LATN[3]=-32768 LATN[4]=-32768 SATN[0]=117 SATN[1]=302 SATN[2]=484 SATN[3]=-32768 SATN[4]=-32768 SNR[0]=57 SNR[1]=56 SNR[2]=59 SNR[3]=-32768 SNR[4]=-32768
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lspbg 0" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 LATN[0]=2 LATN[1]=225 LATN[2]=364 LATN[3]=-32768 LATN[4]=-32768 SATN[0]=1 SATN[1]=223 SATN[2]=362 SATN[3]=-32768 SATN[4]=-32768 SNR[0]=68 SNR[1]=69 SNR[2]=63 SNR[3]=-32768 SNR[4]=-32768
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997listrg 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=1 G994VendorID=IFTN SystemVendorID=ECI tele VersionNumber= SerialNumber=7035497883 SelfTestResult=0 XTSECapabilities=(00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00)
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lsg 1 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nLineState=0x801
nReturn=0 nLineState=0x801
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lsg 0 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 nDeltDataType=1 LATN=0 SATN=0 SNR=64 ATTNDR=21918632 ACTPS=-901 ACTATP=125
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997csg 1 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=-22Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997csg 0 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nChannel=0 nDirection=1 ActualDataRate=67868000 PreviousDataRate=73992000 ActualInterleaveDelay=975 ActualImpulseNoiseProtection=30
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "bbsg 0" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 nNumData=3
nFormat=(nBandIndex, (nLimit_firstToneIndex, nLimit_lastToneIndex), (nBorder_firstToneIndex, nBorder_lastToneIndex)) nData="
(00,(0010,0031),(0010,0031))
(01,(0882,1193),(0882,1193))
(02,(1984,2770),(1984,2770))
"
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "bbsg 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=1 nNumData=3
nFormat=(nBandIndex, (nLimit_firstToneIndex, nLimit_lastToneIndex), (nBorder_firstToneIndex, nBorder_lastToneIndex)) nData="
(00,(0033,0857),(0033,0857))
(01,(1218,1959),(1218,1959))
(02,(2795,3950),(2795,3935))
"
Alpha #
Alpha # exit








=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= Plink log 2012.10.13 23:07:33 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=


login as: admin
password:
BusyBox v1.00 (2011.08.09-03:28+0000) Built-in shell (msh)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lspbg 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 LATN[0]=132 LATN[1]=305 LATN[2]=489 LATN[3]=-32768 LATN[4]=-32768 SATN[0]=117 SATN[1]=302 SATN[2]=484 SATN[3]=-32768 SATN[4]=-32768 SNR[0]=57 SNR[1]=56 SNR[2]=59 SNR[3]=-32768 SNR[4]=-32768
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lspbg 0" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 LATN[0]=2 LATN[1]=225 LATN[2]=364 LATN[3]=-32768 LATN[4]=-32768 SATN[0]=1 SATN[1]=223 SATN[2]=362 SATN[3]=-32768 SATN[4]=-32768 SNR[0]=68 SNR[1]=68 SNR[2]=63 SNR[3]=-32768 SNR[4]=-32768
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997listrg 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=1 G994VendorID=IFTN SystemVendorID=ECI tele VersionNumber= SerialNumber=7035497883 SelfTestResult=0 XTSECapabilities=(00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00)
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lsg 1 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=1 nDeltDataType=1 LATN=185 SATN=153 SNR=58 ATTNDR=78415280 ACTPS=-901 ACTATP=65
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997lsg 0 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 nDeltDataType=1 LATN=0 SATN=0 SNR=64 ATTNDR=21915204 ACTPS=-901 ACTATP=125
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997csg 1 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=-22Alpha #
Alpha # echo "g997csg 0 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nChannel=0 nDirection=1 ActualDataRate=67868000 PreviousDataRate=73992000 ActualInterleaveDelay=975 ActualImpulseNoiseProtection=30
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "bbsg 0" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=0 nNumData=3
nFormat=(nBandIndex, (nLimit_firstToneIndex, nLimit_lastToneIndex), (nBorder_firstToneIndex, nBorder_lastToneIndex)) nData="
(00,(0010,0031),(0010,0031))
(01,(0882,1193),(0882,1193))
(02,(1984,2770),(1984,2770))
"
Alpha #
Alpha # echo "bbsg 1" > /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_cmd
Alpha # cat /tmp/pipe/dsl_cpe0_ack
nReturn=0 nDirection=1 nNumData=3
nFormat=(nBandIndex, (nLimit_firstToneIndex, nLimit_lastToneIndex), (nBorder_firstToneIndex, nBorder_lastToneIndex)) nData="
(00,(0033,0857),(0033,0857))
(01,(1218,1959),(1218,1959))
(02,(2795,3950),(2795,3935))
"
Alpha #
Alpha # exit
mushy
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 16-10-2012

Re: gateway hop on FTTC

Thanks for that Bald Eagle, please let me know if that changes