cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fttc Install fail

nicholab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2014

fttc Install fail

Why does it take so long to resolve issues if an install fails the physical connection is working bt openreach modem is connected but I can't authenticate?  I have raised a support ticket on Wednesday after the install but no news so far?
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: fttc Install fail

Watch this space tomorrow when one of the Digital Care Team pick it up!
Geoff,
York.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: fttc Install fail

Hi nicholab,
Sorry to see you're not connected at the minute, I've taken a look at your line and it shows that your modem is currently connected.
Is the new router we sent you connected up? If it is then I'd suggest logging into the router and checking the credentials - http://www.plus.net/support/customer_service/using/settings.shtml
Keep me posted on how you get on.

nicholab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2014

Re: fttc Install fail

So the Modem is connected on the FTTC side and you can see that.  I have rest the modem and also put my credentials in and it sill will not authenticate.  I have also connected directly to the modem and setup a PPPoE connection on my MAC.  I also tried the BT test authentication and this will not work.  Is it me or BT that doing some thing daft?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: fttc Install fail

Just to check.... your username is your router is 'yourusername'@plusdsl.net?
nicholab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2014

Re: fttc Install fail

I had a BT fibre engineer out and he could not fix it it then went to BT 2nd line and they said their was no fault.  The modem receives a chap challenge and then takes down the ppp link.  Is there any chance this will get fix?  I read that some users have had the radius deleted and readded to the connection will BT have already done this? I just want the intranet!!!!!!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: fttc Install fail

Sorry to see this is still on-going for you.
I've had a look at your line and it does show you've had a connection;
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13976386002580.png"/>
Looking at your fault I can see there has been an issue with it getting progressed so we haven't been able to get the latest update.
When did the engineer attend?

TDIRich
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: fttc Install fail

I have the same issue - 7 days since installation and no pppoe connection. BTOR eng now has told me its headend  pronlem at the exchnge. I.e a Plusnet equipment problem. They are wasting yours and BToRs time sending out engineers, when the have big issues with their equipment at the exchange.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: fttc Install fail

We don't have any exchange equipment, we utilise the BT Network - I'm looking into this now.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
TDIRich
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: fttc Install fail

accordihg to BTOR, the headend is demarced as isp 'owned' so is effectively your equipment, is it not? I.e you initiate  repair/provisions on the headend, as your monitoring systems pick them up. 
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: fttc Install fail

Not quite.
The Head End is referred to in BT Documentation here:
Quote
The originating point in a communications system. In TV delivery, the head end is where the programming originates in the network

This was taken from https://www.btplc.com/Sharesandperformance/Presentations/downloads/Network_Teach-in_Mar2013.pdf
In the meantime, I'm investigating what's going on, what's happening and when the issue will be fixed.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
nicholab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-04-2014

Re: fttc Install fail

It over a week since the BT fibre engineer visited and passed it up the chain.  I am starting to feel I was better on adsl but 5 mbit was slow.
TDIRich
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-04-2014

Re: fttc Install fail

call PN for an update, they can chase up the issue with the faults team