cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

bridtown
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 10-11-2007

from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

hi there when i was changed to max dsl i was on a 5.5mb - 6mb line and i was happy for months and months about 5months
and about 4months ago my line changed to a 4mb line checked through b.t line checker and it says 4mb line a.o.l and the same
can any 1 help me please
thanks
10 REPLIES
Hustler85
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 03-08-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Anything change at your end in this time ?
Extra phone, new extension, new router with the product change, different computer running the speed test ?
Tried switching microfilters or connecting to master/test socket and recording your speeds ?
bridtown
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 10-11-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

yep i have tryed everthing you have said
i have gone wireless since but speed and line went ages before i changed computers.. even force 9 or plusnet says i sould be on a 3-4mb line
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Hi there,
You are currently syncing with the exchange at 5824Kbps.  If you maintain this speed, then you will be assigned a BT Profile of 5Mbps.  You're currently on 4.5Mbps.
The most important thing here is not what results you're getting on speedtests, but the actually synchronisation speeds that your router is gaining with the exchange.
Please feel free to have a read of the speed troubleshooting guide I wrote, it's linked in my signature.
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,798
Thanks: 261
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Hi James,
Where can the actual sync speed be found?
artmo
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Hi there,
It'll be on your router somewhere Smiley
It's also reported in the BT Speedtest.
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,798
Thanks: 261
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

OK think I've got it.
On the router it shows line rate 7616 downstream and 448 upload.
I am getting a download speed of about 5Mb.  Is this about right for my line rate?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Hey,
It's not far off it.  After you've taken exchange contention into play that's a pretty decent throughput speed.
You're being profiled accordingly for that kind of sync speed, so all is looking pretty decent Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,798
Thanks: 261
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Thanks for your reply.  Two more questions please.  On the BT tester it shows the same figures that I got from my router but it also mentions IP profile of 6500.  How does this fit into the equation?
Also when I use the dslzoneuk.net tester it gives my sync as 8128.  Any reason for the difference?
Finally, a third question.  Is there an FAQ on all these various figures that we're talking about?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please

Your sync speed determines the IP profile, have a look at the link below for more information.
IP Profile
James' blog post should be able to answer you other questions
Speed Queries
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,798
Thanks: 261
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: from a 5.5mb line to a 4mb line why help please


Thanks James and Chris for your answers.
Regards,
artmo