cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fastpath FEC Errors

SoFarSoGood
Rising Star
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-03-2013

fastpath FEC Errors

Hi all
I had interleaving turned off over 12 months ago and iirc FEC errors were 'shown' as 0/0.
It is now showing as FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 9.995.392.
Is this correct, as I thought Forward Error Correction was off when set to Fastpath?
17 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

That looks like a bug. Could be caused by anything, maybe a spike of local interference for some reason. You could try a graceful Disconnect - ie log into the modem/router, click Disconnect to drop the PPP Internet session, wait about 30sec/1min then power down for about 10 minutes.
This will reset all the stats and give a graceful resync which won't be interpreted by DLM as a dropped connection. If you are on a long line with low speeds it'll probably be best to do this in daylight hours anytime around now to an hour before sunset should be OK.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

If interleaving is off then you normally won't see any FEC errors showing. It's likely to be as Anotherone describes, something causing a blip in your router stats.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
SoFarSoGood
Rising Star
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-03-2013

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Thank you Anotherone and Chris for your help.
I'll give what Anotherone suggests a go and see what happens.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Looks to me as though interleaving has been turn on again.
Can you post the full routers stats, that should prove things.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Interleaving is set to Auto and run mode is showing as Fast, so interleaving shouldn't be on. It'd be interesting if the full stats show anything different.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
SoFarSoGood
Rising Star
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-03-2013

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Thanks for your help npr, Chris and Anotherone

BEFORE Disconnect

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 7 days, 3:11:26
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.244 / 21.608
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/MB]: 1,99 / 116,11
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,4 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,5 / 15,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,9 / 2,6
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 94.981 / 17
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 11.894.882
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 174 / 1.959
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 674 / 47.172

AFTER Reconnection

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:50
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.248 / 21.205
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 7,40 / 6,00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,8 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,4 / 15,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,8 / 3,7
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1.049
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Well to me, that certainly looks as though DS Interleaving has turned on again, which actually comes as no surprise as Chris mentioned it was set on Auto.  Whereas if you requested it be turned off 12months ago, it should not be on Auto at all. Perhaps someone from CRT can place the appropriate Modify order and remembering uncapped upstream as well Wink
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

That's telling me that interleaving is on still, even though the DLM data I checked showed the runtime as Fast. I'll place an order to remove this completely and it should complete tomorrow.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Order placed, they normally complete overnight so hopefully by this time tomorrow it'll be off the line completely.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
SoFarSoGood
Rising Star
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-03-2013

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Hi Anotherone and Chris.
Chris, thanks for placing the order
Your help (and Anotherone's) is much appreciated.
 
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

No problem, if you can post some line stats again tomorrow once the order has completed that'd be good so we can see that it's definitely off.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
SoFarSoGood
Rising Star
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-03-2013

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Hi Chris
Posting line stats as requested.
DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 9:06:54
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.219 / 22.019
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 35,68 / 756,74
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,4 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,4 / 16,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,3 / 3,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 165 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 159
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 965

JayG
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 914
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 2
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

To the best of my (limited) knowledge, no FEC errors = no interleaving (i.e. Fastpath.)
SoFarSoGood
Rising Star
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-03-2013

Re: fastpath FEC Errors

Hi JayG
Agreed (see my initial post)