cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dsl not connected and speed issues

welshviking
Grafter

dsl not connected and speed issues

Hi, Had no problems at all since joining plusnet from aol (i am on plusnet unlimited) anyone the last few days i have been getting dsl not connecting coming up on screen and it seems to be getting worse. Also my speed has gone down from in between 3.7 - 4.0mb to 1.3mb...very poor....Thanks Colin
p.s i am not very technically minded so please be gentle with me
90 REPLIES 90
Anotherone
Champion
Fixes: 21

Re: dsl not connected and speed issues

How long have you been connected to PlusNet now? Have you been leaving the Modem/Router on 24/7?
Can you post the current ADSL line stats - Sync (connection) speed, Attenuation, Noise Margin (SNRM) and Power, both Downstream (DS) and Upstream (US).
See here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php for help to get the stats.
If you've not been keeping the Router on 24/7 (not the computer), switch it on in the morning and leave it on 24/7 for the time being until will got a better feel for what is going on.
Edit: Though having said that, there is Thunder/lightning predicted for many areas today, if you have any or are likely to get any near you or your exchange, best to switch off before it gets to you.
welshviking
Grafter

Cheers for the reply , my router is on virtually constant but my speed is getting slower and slower down to 1.1mb now which too be honest is pathetic, as for the link you gave me i cannot find my wireless router on the list (thomson tg585 v7)....sorry i cannot be more precise but as i mentioned i am not very good with computers...Thanks Colin
adie:quote
welshviking
Grafter

L Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 7:14:55
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3,392
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.0 / 35.0