cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dodgy routing to USA atm

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

dodgy routing to USA atm

in last 30mins had all routing stop going to USA 3 times so far.
gateway I am currently on lo0-central6.pcl-ag05.plus.net
trace shows traffic stopping at 84.93.255.179
too http://forums.anarchy-online.com/
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
47 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,749
Thanks: 803
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Don't know if it's related but many websites have stopped loading.
Including ebay and before someone asks "website down check" as well.
coachdriver
Grafter
Posts: 32
Registered: 07-04-2011

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Yes, everything is starting to fail although my VPN connection to my work in the UK is fine.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,663
Thanks: 656
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

We're seeing similar reports into the CSC too, we'll get a service status out when we know what's going on.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
andy020
Grafter
Posts: 72
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Simular issues here, MSN won't log in, Ps3 won't connect and cannot access ALL website. Only some such as plus.net. EBAY, hotmail etc not working...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,695
Thanks: 918
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

I've just tried downforeveryoneorjustme.com from here and the office, here fails, from the office (not Plusnet) works.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
davidbeandotorg
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 07-11-2011

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Hi guys, new to the forum to report this fault; I can see that you're on it, so thanks for that, but just wanted to add that I too am having a similar problem. Certain sites work fine, but others won't load at all (apart from whatever's in the cache, obviously); I'm not sure whether it's a geographical problem, since there seem to be indications both ways. I actually thought it was a browser problem to begin with, but after trying IE instead of my usual Chrome, I had the same problem; Windows diagnosis reckoned the DNS server was playing up.
laz3484
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 07-11-2011

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

nothing wrong with DNS, i can get the ip addresses fine. its not just routing to USA as im trying to connect to something on telia in sweden and it wont work.
edit: i dont use plusnet for DNS
saguaro
Grafter
Posts: 78
Thanks: 1
Registered: 26-01-2011

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Just for another datapoint, I can't reach twitter, www.nanowrimo.org, or stanford.edu, but Facebook and Flickr seem to be OK so far.  (And on another .edu domain I can reach the email server but not the ssh gateway, so it's a weirdly selective issue.)
caulbox
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: 19-06-2009

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

No problem with eBay for me (can search and browse both .co.uk and .com without any probs)
Gateway thn-ag1.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,695
Thanks: 918
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Looks to me like the Level 3 connection is down.
Using the office PC I've just tried a trace to 212.159.8.2 (portal servers) from dnsstuff.com. The last successful hop was ae-58-223.csw2.London1.Level3.net.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,663
Thanks: 656
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

SS posted, may take a few minutes to appear. Looks like a few ISPs are seeing similar issues from speaking to people around the business.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
caulbox
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: 19-06-2009

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Still no issues, I did recently flush my DNS cache in XP if it's of any significance?
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Reason it looked like DNS routing is because people are using several services such as OpenDNS, GoogleDNS rather than Plusnets own.
Noticed the problem about an hour ago when ODNS stopped responding, swapped to GDNS assuming theyre were having an issue, 2 minutes later same issue, swapped to PN DNS and everything was ok for 10 minutes before the slow responses started again :p Just striked up a machine with DNS installed which is polling across all services and now im getting slowness but pages load Smiley isnt it fun  Grin  Cheesy
Thanks for the update Chris.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: dodgy routing to USA atm

Wondered why I couldn't get the Calibre update. No route to sourceforge.net.
traceroute sourceforge.net
traceroute to sourceforge.net (216.34.181.60), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  0.490 ms  0.661 ms  0.862 ms
2  lo0-central1.pcl-ag02.plus.net (195.166.128.235)  49.093 ms  49.112 ms  52.477 ms
3  gi1-13-211.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.92.6.32)  52.423 ms  52.449 ms  54.104 ms
4  po4.pcl-gw02.plus.net (212.159.1.129)  56.336 ms  58.552 ms  60.731 ms
5  * * *
6  * * *
7  * * *
8  * * *
9  * * *
10  * * *
--cut--