cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

could you adjust my snr profile please?

richardhead
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 14-08-2014

could you adjust my snr profile please?

Good afternoon
I have been with yourselves for a few weeks now and my snr is erratic. I am using my own billion ipac 7800n and have adjusted it to force an snr of 6db.
I would prefer it if you guys could get to at least 7 your end as sometimes I'm connecting at 15db and my speed is slowing from 6Mb down to 4 and lower. That way i can default my router back to normal.
Thanks in advance!.
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: could you adjust my snr profile please?

Hi there,
We can set the SNR target to a lower value, it's currently at 9dB, your line however has had several disconnection recently so I'm prefer to sort that our first and then adjust the SNR.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14080313879974.png"/>
Do you have a test socket you can connect to?
richardhead
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 14-08-2014

Re: could you adjust my snr profile please?

Hi thanks for replying!
The reason for the disconnections is down to me rebooting the router to try and sync at a lower snr which is currently at 8.9. It was getting a little wild and jumping up to 15db. The sync speed says 7463 but my download speed is 4Mb and is slower than normal. The test socket is the same by the way.
Thanks again
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,872
Thanks: 3,237
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: could you adjust my snr profile please?

Hi,
  Welcome to the forums.
Your line will have been set to 15dB because the line management system has found good cause to do so.  Can you please rest your modem to not interfer with the line defaults and gather the data requested here - http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html - please?
Is the phone line quiet?  Dial 17070 option 2 using a corded phone in the master socket.
Is the router in the master socket?
Hopefully the stats will point to the reason why the SNRM has been elevated.
richardhead
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 14-08-2014

Re: could you adjust my snr profile please?

It is currently at 9.1db and i have reset the router settings to not automatically sync at 6db. My download speeds are 4Mb and my line has always been at 6Mb but there doesn't seem to be a fault. I'm pretty sure it's because of the snr because if i adjust my router i then get 6Mb.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: could you adjust my snr profile please?

I've placed a SNR reset on your line as your line has been stable, it seems to already have had the desired impact. I'd suggest leaving your router switched on where possible as your line in now in a 10 day training period.
richardhead
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 14-08-2014

Re: could you adjust my snr profile please?

Thank you Chris you're a star!.