cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

connection drops

bigben
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

connection drops

I have tried to stabilize my line by fitting a ADSL nation master socket and new DSL wire to the router .
The issue is that my SNR target is 15db with a connection speed of around 4000 which is good enough for me.But for some reason my connection is still dropping even at the  times in the day when SNR is good ,SNR nomally only goes as low as 12db in the evening .
              Down            Up
SNR (dB):      14.8            25.0
Attn(dB):      45.0            25.0
Pwr(dBm):      19.8            11.9
Max(Kbps):      4096            1116
Rate (Kbps):    4064            448
16 REPLIES
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: connection drops

dose the drop happen at aprox same time each day?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: connection drops

Hi bigben,
you may well have an intermittent connection, possibly on your line (in view of what you've already done), but it could still be you router. Try gently wiggling the line connector and power connectors to make sure they don't cause a sync drop.
If you spot a sync drop, have a listen to your phone line, use a corded phone. Have you ever heard any crackling or other intermittent noises on your line?
If there doesn't appear to be any noise on your line, try borrowing another router.
bigben
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: connection drops

The drops are happening at different times of the day, i have tried to find what might be causing it for instance the heating and security lights but it happens with them off as well.
The router is the 3rd one i have tried  (Thompson 585v7,netgear N,n Dlink 2640b) All seem to work fine then drop.( netgear was worse)
Since i changed the face plate the phone seems louder and clearer but never herd it crackle.
I have noticed that as the SNR drops towards 11db  the amount of errors goes up considerably .Al tho i know little about errors !
The wiggling of the wires has no effect
I am a keen PS3 fan so have interleaving off,would that effect my line in this way?
valart
Grafter
Posts: 418
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: connection drops

I had the same problem for about a month I raised many tickets I was told to connect the router to the main plate and it would be tested over night I might need BT to come in to sort it which would cost me,but only one person in the forum said it could be the router which I thought it was all the time,sales sent me a new Thomson and within seconds everthing changed even the speed was up.This was the second Voyager to go wrong they are just rubbish the best place for them is in the bin
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: connection drops

There's actually a known issue with the Voyager 210 (I think) defaulting to an MTU of 1400, which could explain your issue.
Glad you managed to fix it with a new router.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,815
Thanks: 1,189
Fixes: 68
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: connection drops

The Voyager 210 has separate WAN (Internet) and LAN (home network) settings for MTU which default to 1400 and 1500 respectively. The latter suits the network card in most PCs and the former most websites, so this should not be an issue. The router converts the TCP/IP stream between these MTUs on the fly.
I think in most cases, if not all, the apparent "error" probably stemmed from (say) the DSLreports tweak test reporting MTU as 1400 whereas DrTCP run on the PC said it was 1500. Both of these were correct for the part of the network they are looking at but the continued (correct) reporting of 1400 even though DrTCP has been used to "confirm" it was1500 made it appear that the router was faulty.
I believe the problem that valart had was simply that the router hardware was dodgy - possibly a loose wire or power supply fault causing it to reboot, not just re-sync.
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: connection drops

Or the dicky capacitors!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: connection drops

@bigben
Try running RouterStats and posting some graphs. What's the latest router ADSL line stats?
bigben
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: connection drops

Stats from routerstats are:

adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime  Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4064 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                  G.DMT
Channel:                Fast
Trellis:                ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):      15.4            25.0
Attn(dB):      45.0            25.0
Pwr(dBm):      19.8            11.9
Max(Kbps):      4096            1116
Rate (Kbps):    4064            448
                        G.dmt framing
K:              128(0)          15
R:              0              0
S:              1              1
D:              1              1
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:          1              1
B:              147            15
M:              1              1
T:              1              1
R:              0              0
S:              1.0000          1.0000
L:              1184            128
D:              1              1
                        Counters
SF:            7724869        7724867
SFErr:          1758            5
RS:            0              0
RSCorr:        0              0
RSUnCorr:      0              0
HEC:            1018            0
OCD:            0              0
LCD:            0              0
Total Cells:    1258711738              0
Data Cells:    3564072        0
Drop Cells:    0
Bit Errors:    0              0
ES:            3971            0
SES:            204            0
UAS:            121            0
Total time = 1 days 11 min 22 sec
SF  = 20358181
CRC = 17645
LOS = 4
LOF = 36
ES  = 3971
Latest 1 day time = 11 min 22 sec
SF  = 40120
CRC = 5
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 5
Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 22 sec
SF  = 40120
CRC = 5
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 5
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 9
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 9
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
SF  = 5082378
CRC = 1154
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 816
15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 7
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 7
15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52864
CRC = 17
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 7
15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 46
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 8
This is fairly typical for the sync speed,if the sync is over 4500 there are far more errors and drops of sync.
bigben
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: connection drops

since the sync drop to 4064 my connection has been up for 70 hours !.
the latest stats from routerstats are :

adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime  Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4064 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode:                  G.DMT
Channel:                Fast
Trellis:                ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):      13.7            25.0
Attn(dB):      45.0            25.0
Pwr(dBm):      19.8            11.9
Max(Kbps):      4096            1116
Rate (Kbps):    4064            448
                        G.dmt framing
K:              128(0)          15
R:              0              0
S:              1              1
D:              1              1
                        ADSL2 framing
MSGc:          1              1
B:              147            15
M:              1              1
T:              1              1
R:              0              0
S:              1.0000          1.0000
L:              1184            128
D:              1              1
                        Counters
SF:            14762566                14762564
SFErr:          4143            25
RS:            0              0
RSCorr:        0              0
RSUnCorr:      0              0
HEC:            2655            9
OCD:            0              0
LCD:            0              0
Total Cells:    2405443413              0
Data Cells:    6168963        0
Drop Cells:    0
Bit Errors:    0              0
ES:            5187            0
SES:            225            0
UAS:            121            0
Total time = 1 days 9 hours 25 min 24 sec
SF  = 27395878
CRC = 20030
LOS = 4
LOF = 36
ES  = 5187
Latest 1 day time = 9 hours 25 min 24 sec
SF  = 1995498
CRC = 751
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 273
Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 24 sec
SF  = 36639
CRC = 7
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 7
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 15
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 14
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
SF  = 5082319
CRC = 1639
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 948
15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52923
CRC = 10
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 9
15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52923
CRC = 9
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 9
15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
SF  = 52982
CRC = 12
LOS = 0
LOF = 0
ES  = 12
Could some one please tell me if these figures are the cause of  my target SNR being 15db
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: connection drops

OK, lets hope that sync speed holds and let's get down to some basics.
Do you have any extensions, if so how  are they connected to your new face plate? Where is the router currently plugged in?
bigben
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: connection drops

hi Anotherone.
There is an extension wired to the back of the master socket leading to a phone socket upstairs but it is unused as i use wireless  on the office PC.
I understood that the ADSL nation faceplate would separate the phone from the Broadband effectively making my router connection the same as being in the test socket.
There is a wired phone in the master socket and the router.(dlink 2640b).the laptop is wireless and the PS3 is wired.
The DSL lead to the router is 10m but is  new from ADSL nation.
I removed all the Orange wires(bell wire) from the two sockets when the sudden connection drops started happening.
bigben.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: connection drops

In theory, if your extension wiring is connected to the correct terminations on that faceplate, then you shouild be able to leave the bell wire connected - but as long as you have no phones requiring it, it won't matter.
Do things seem more stable now with this router?
bigben
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: connection drops

Yes the dlink seems to hold onto the connection  better than the others i have tried.It has held on when the SNR dropped  as low as 1db!
Router uptime is 117 hours which is good for my line.
Am i right in thinking that it takes 4 weeks of constant connection to lower the SNR from 15 to 12.?
Does this happen gradually over the time or all at once after the 4 weeks of connection?