cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

clarkRec speed problem

clarkrec
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 31-01-2015

clarkRec speed problem

My upload speed is really slow as well with the Technicolor TG582b router.
Could you upgrade my firmware please if you think this would help?
Also not sure if the upload speed has been capped as with some other peoples - if it has could it be uncapped please?
Thanks
14 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

clarkRec speed problem

Your upload speed is already showing as uncapped. What upload speeds are you getting?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

clarkRec speed problem

Could you post the information from http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?be=0&l0=2&l1=0 please.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
clarkrec
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 31-01-2015

clarkRec speed problem

Just run a speedtest.net test and getting 0.52mbps upload speed - get the same result whether on wireless or plugged directly into the router.
Any other ideas what could be causing this?
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

clarkRec speed problem

That could be a perfectly normal result depending upon how far you are from the exchange. Please post the stats I asked for in my last post.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
clarkrec
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 31-01-2015

clarkRec speed problem

Ah sorry didn't see that, see below:
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime:7 days, 3:13:24
DSL Type:ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:888 / 9,383
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]:863.00 / 6.93
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:12.7 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:21.1 / 41.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:11.9 / 9.1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote):BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):-
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):568,786 / 75
FEC Errors (Up/Down):87,837 / 414,686,614
CRC Errors (Up/Down):3,512,498 / 36,269,972
HEC Errors (Up/Down):1,175,485 / 21,068,425

I don't think it's a perfectly normal result as never had a problem with this before, but recently uploading anything just takes ages!

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

clarkRec speed problem

That is a bit odd as I get about 700kbps with an 888kbps sync
Can you check here http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ - speedtest on the left and here http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/
Having said that your upstream CRC errors are pretty horrible which may be part of the problem
These are mine after 14 days
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 20,907 / 643,947
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 277 / 5,172
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 522 / 96,246
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

clarkRec speed problem

There's a lot of errors being logged - I wonder if that is is affecting the throughput?
Upgrading the firmware may not be such a silly idea.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
clarkrec
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 31-01-2015

clarkRec speed problem

This is the thinkbroadband result: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1422711458309395655
And mybroadbandspeed.co.uk gives a download speed of 7648kbps and an upload speed of 558kbps.
Does this give any more ideas? If upgrading the firmware might help then is someone able to do this for me please?
Thanks
jim:green image added mod:end
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

clarkRec speed problem

This is mine - note the difference in upload speed result
If you dial 17070 option 2 is the line quiet
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: clarkRec speed problem

Topic split off to it's own thread
clarkrec
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 31-01-2015

Re: clarkRec speed problem

Yes, the line is quiet when I try that.
The only thing I can think of other than firmware upgrade is that we have a couple of signal boosters plugged in otherwise the wireless signal was very weak - is it possible that these could be impacting negatively at all?
If so, I will try and take them back out tonight and see if that changes any results.
Thanks for all the help so far.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: clarkRec speed problem

It would be interesting to see what you get using a wired connection with the boosters turned off. If you could take a copy of the stats before and after so we can see how many errors are logged while you run the test.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
clarkrec
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 31-01-2015

Re: clarkRec speed problem

Right, this was before I took the boosters out:
Uptime: 7 days, 9:19:55

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 9,383

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 899.37 / 7.16

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.7 / 0.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.1 / 41.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 11.7 / 8.6

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 589,945 / 81

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 87,837 / 589,770,129

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 3,643,049 / 37,618,420

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 1,219,071 / 21,859,560
And this was after:
Uptime: 0 days, 0:02:12

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 8,714

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1.86 / 16.90

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.7 / 0.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.1 / 41.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 12.4 / 10.1

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 85

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 43
Did a speedtest without the boosters and the speed improved to 0.76, so looks as if these may be the problem. Are these errors still unusually high or are they reasonable?
Thanks for all the advice
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: clarkRec speed problem

You weren't supposed reboot/reconnect the router
Please leave things alone now and report the stats again tomorrow evening
However please do a Thinkbroadband speed test and report the result as it may show if things have changed