cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can You please...

alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

can You please...

uncap upload speed
thx
16 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,814
Thanks: 561
Fixes: 213
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: can You please...

Hi there
I've checked your upload speed and it is currently uncapped?
What figures are you getting when you run a speedtest?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

I'd hazard a guess at 7.90Mb/s down and 0.36Mb/s down  Wink
Did you mean the results of BT Wholesale speed test?
http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,814
Thanks: 561
Fixes: 213
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: can You please...

Hard to tell when the attached speedtest shows 1/1/14 Wink
But yes ideally the BT Wholesale speedtest
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3292427383

not far from last one  Undecided
BT shows that i have 8.82Mb download, 0.68Mb upload and 59.25 ping 
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

Sufficiently different to show that your upload is uncapped though.  The cap is 448kbps
Looks like you are a long way from the exchange?  What ADSL stats does the router show?
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

how to check this ?
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

Assuming you've got the TG582n router:
Log in to the router from http://192.168.1.254

Default UserName = admin
Default Password = Serial Number from under the router

From the left hand menu:
Broadband Connection >
DSL Connection >
Then select "Details" from the top right.

Direct link:  http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?ce=1&be=0&l0=1&l1=0
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

Thank You for the guide  Smiley
that what i get:
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 6:09:34
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 854 / 10,464
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1.74 / 8.71
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.2 / 20.6
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.5 / 40.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 4.7 / 2.2
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,043 / 1
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 42,634 / 43,244,106
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 840 / 1,291
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 647 / 7,418

i don't know what that mean
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

I'm not an ADSL stats expert but...
From a Be tool:
Quote
[green]Error Seconds are occurring with low regularity (0.01/sec).[/green]
[green]Expected download speed at your current sync rate: 1.09 MB per second (or 8906 kbit)[/green]
[green]Expected upload speed at your current sync rate: 90.85 KB per second (or 727 kbit)[/green]
[green]Signal Noise Margin Down (2dB) is a little bit lower than average.[/green]
[green]Whoooo! Your downstream sync speed is 128 percent of the average speed for your attenuation.[/green]
[red]Problem: High frequency of FEC Down errors (398.29/sec). Note that SpeedTouch routers have a habit of misreporting FEC errors, so this is not necessarily a concern.[/red]
[red]Problem: Output power down (20.6dBm) is very high. Most common values are 17 to 19.5dBm.[/red]
[red]Problem: Signal Noise Margin Up (4.5dB) is extremely low.[/red]
[red]Problem: There are some FEC Up errors. FEC errors are *corrected* errors, so these are probably nothing to worry about. Speedtouch routers have a habit of misreporting FEC errors anyway.[/red]

The speed look around about what you should expect with 40dB attenuation:
http://www.coolwebhome.co.uk/calc/index.php?param=RG4gMTA0NjQgRG4gNDAgRG4gMi4yIERuIDI=#res
What does the BT Broadband checker give as the expected performance for your line?
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

Featured Products
Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Downstream Range(Mbps)
Availability Date
High Low High Low
FTTC Range A (Clean) 80 72.7 20 20 -- Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted) 80 59 20 19 -- Available

WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 16 -- 14 to 18.5 Available
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M Up to 16 Up to 1 14 to 18.5 Available
ADSL Max Up to 5.5 -- 4 to 8 Available
WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
Other Offerings
Fibre Multicast -- -- -- Available
thank You for Your time and help, i think we can close topic as been resolved or m i missing somethings
offbeatdave
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎24-09-2012

Re: can You please...

For over a year I was under impression I was uncapped at 888kbps upload on ADSL2+ until I compared with parents' uncapped 1200kbps.  After raising a ticket I am now properly uncapped at 1250kbps. Turned out I hadn't previously been properly uncapped but was in some sort of halfway house!
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

i don't know so far i can't say anything wrong about services excluding my upload
i'm paying 16.49 a month so you can't suspect much better for this money
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: can You please...

@offbeatdave
888kbps is what you get when the upstream is interleaved
@alofal
The upstream looks low compared to the downstream when looking at the upstream noise margin but I don't have a reason why
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

what can be done to improve my upload ?