cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can You please...

alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

can You please...

uncap upload speed
thx
16 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: can You please...

Hi there
I've checked your upload speed and it is currently uncapped?
What figures are you getting when you run a speedtest?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

I'd hazard a guess at 7.90Mb/s down and 0.36Mb/s down  Wink
Did you mean the results of BT Wholesale speed test?
http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: can You please...

Hard to tell when the attached speedtest shows 1/1/14 Wink
But yes ideally the BT Wholesale speedtest
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3292427383

not far from last one  Undecided
BT shows that i have 8.82Mb download, 0.68Mb upload and 59.25 ping 
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

Sufficiently different to show that your upload is uncapped though.  The cap is 448kbps
Looks like you are a long way from the exchange?  What ADSL stats does the router show?
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

how to check this ?
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

Assuming you've got the TG582n router:
Log in to the router from http://192.168.1.254

Default UserName = admin
Default Password = Serial Number from under the router

From the left hand menu:
Broadband Connection >
DSL Connection >
Then select "Details" from the top right.

Direct link:  http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?ce=1&be=0&l0=1&l1=0
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

Thank You for the guide  Smiley
that what i get:
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 6:09:34
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 854 / 10,464
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 1.74 / 8.71
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.2 / 20.6
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.5 / 40.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 4.7 / 2.2
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1,043 / 1
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 42,634 / 43,244,106
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 840 / 1,291
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 647 / 7,418

i don't know what that mean
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: can You please...

I'm not an ADSL stats expert but...
From a Be tool:
Quote
[green]Error Seconds are occurring with low regularity (0.01/sec).[/green]
[green]Expected download speed at your current sync rate: 1.09 MB per second (or 8906 kbit)[/green]
[green]Expected upload speed at your current sync rate: 90.85 KB per second (or 727 kbit)[/green]
[green]Signal Noise Margin Down (2dB) is a little bit lower than average.[/green]
[green]Whoooo! Your downstream sync speed is 128 percent of the average speed for your attenuation.[/green]
[red]Problem: High frequency of FEC Down errors (398.29/sec). Note that SpeedTouch routers have a habit of misreporting FEC errors, so this is not necessarily a concern.[/red]
[red]Problem: Output power down (20.6dBm) is very high. Most common values are 17 to 19.5dBm.[/red]
[red]Problem: Signal Noise Margin Up (4.5dB) is extremely low.[/red]
[red]Problem: There are some FEC Up errors. FEC errors are *corrected* errors, so these are probably nothing to worry about. Speedtouch routers have a habit of misreporting FEC errors anyway.[/red]

The speed look around about what you should expect with 40dB attenuation:
http://www.coolwebhome.co.uk/calc/index.php?param=RG4gMTA0NjQgRG4gNDAgRG4gMi4yIERuIDI=#res
What does the BT Broadband checker give as the expected performance for your line?
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

Featured Products
Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)
Downstream Range(Mbps)
Availability Date
High Low High Low
FTTC Range A (Clean) 80 72.7 20 20 -- Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted) 80 59 20 19 -- Available

WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 16 -- 14 to 18.5 Available
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M Up to 16 Up to 1 14 to 18.5 Available
ADSL Max Up to 5.5 -- 4 to 8 Available
WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
Other Offerings
Fibre Multicast -- -- -- Available
thank You for Your time and help, i think we can close topic as been resolved or m i missing somethings
offbeatdave
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎24-09-2012

Re: can You please...

For over a year I was under impression I was uncapped at 888kbps upload on ADSL2+ until I compared with parents' uncapped 1200kbps.  After raising a ticket I am now properly uncapped at 1250kbps. Turned out I hadn't previously been properly uncapped but was in some sort of halfway house!
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

i don't know so far i can't say anything wrong about services excluding my upload
i'm paying 16.49 a month so you can't suspect much better for this money
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: can You please...

@offbeatdave
888kbps is what you get when the upstream is interleaved
@alofal
The upstream looks low compared to the downstream when looking at the upstream noise margin but I don't have a reason why
alofal
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎21-12-2013

Re: can You please...

what can be done to improve my upload ?