cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

broadband speed

Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

broadband speed

phoned plusnet for mac code cannot get it till after christmas and new year cannot  wait to leave as BT have  naffed  it up again not the first time either .the estimate when you sign up doesnt correspond when you finally go live . I was talking to support and she even said the speed am getting is well below of what i should be getting . so no fix no plusnet .
181 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,365
Thanks: 690
Fixes: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: broadband speed

Have you raised a speed fault at http://faults.plus.net? If you have and your speeds are still well below the estimate isn't the investigation still ongoing?
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: broadband speed

Who are you intending to move to?
If it's another ISP using services from BT Wholesale you will face the same issues and will delay getting them fixed by moving.
If it's a LLU operator and the issue is the line between your house and the exchange you will face the same issues and will delay getting them fixed by moving.
The only way you can avoid the above is by moving to a service which is not delivered by the telephone line (e.g. a cable service from Virgin), and for that you don't need a MAC.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

Re: broadband speed

Hi im not sure if its still ongoing but i got told my router is sync at 18972 and im getting no where near the download speed  so really couldnt say if its still on going
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: broadband speed

So have you run the BT speed test and checked the current line speed given here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,583
Thanks: 722
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: broadband speed

The cabling in your home has a big effect on speed.
When I first joined Plusnet I was getting 2-3meg download speed. Which I thought was fantastic as I just moved from dial-up.
But, finally taking some notice of posting on the forum, I moved the router next to the first socket and ran an Ethernet cable to it. The speed then jumped up a bit. I then removed the bell wire and all the rest that wasn't required from the phone sockets and the speed jumped up again.
I now get 7.5-8meg.
----------------------------------------------
You haven't mentioned whether you're wired or wireless?
Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

Re: broadband speed

i have checked on numerous speed checkers and have had same issues either lower or bout the same of what i have been getting from the start .
i was with titan adsl on the 20 meg package and was getting with them 16mbps but since joining here i get no where near this . so havent decided who im going with but i still say its down to BT they have done something .
Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

Re: broadband speed

ethernet or wireless makes no diffrence in reguards to the speed results im getting either as you wanted to know
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: broadband speed

You need to do as Jim suggested.
1. Go to http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ and run this test:

This gives information which is NOT given by any other test.
2. Go to https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed and check your current line speed.
If you post the results of those we can advise further.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

Re: broadband speed

Estimated line speed:17Mb (This may vary between 10Mb and 19.5Mb) - Checked on 2012-10-10 11:45:09
Current line speed: 16.6 MB
this is what it says on the link you sent
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,365
Thanks: 690
Fixes: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: broadband speed

That Current line speed value looks fine and is consistent with what you quoted for Titan.
The other part of the jigsaw is from the Diagnostic tester on the first link posted by Jelv, That should give you two tables something like these…
Download speed achieved during the test was - 6.46 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 7.27 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.9Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
… but your downstream IP profile (which I've marked in red) should be higher than mine.
What download speed and IP Profile does it give for you?
David
Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

Re: broadband speed

Download speedachieved during the test was - 15.62 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 16.74 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.38 Mbps
 
0 Mbps 0.45 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.38Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps
but why on speedtest.net doesnt show these kind of speeds makes you wonder
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,365
Thanks: 690
Fixes: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: broadband speed

The BT IP Profile is OK. To match that Plusnet's Current line speed should be 0.1Mbps higher but that's trivial. The increase has perhaps still to work its way through the notification system.
Which speedtest.net server are you using? I've just done the following test using the Namesco server in London…

… and the results tie up with those from my BT Performance Tester result.
David
Fireant
Grafter
Posts: 159
Registered: 03-11-2012

Re: broadband speed

dick:green Image tags added.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,365
Thanks: 690
Fixes: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: broadband speed

That result seems reasonable, within the quite large estimated range though lower than the 'best guess' quoted. How does that figure compare with the speedtest.net results you got with Titan?
David