cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

broadband dropout..

C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

broadband dropout..

Hello,

Does this info below make any sense to someone ?Huh

I am experiencing dropouts with my ADSL broadband connection; I have spoken with Plusnet , replaced a filter, thought that cured it, well, no dropouts for some time but now they are back again.

 

 

14:35:03, 29 Apr.

(844430.050000) CWMP: session completed successfully
14:35:02, 29 Apr. (844429.810000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
14:34:53, 29 Apr. (844420.910000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
14:34:53, 29 Apr. (844420.900000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
14:34:20, 29 Apr. (844387.500000) CWMP: session closed due to error: No response
14:34:20, 29 Apr. (844387.480000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
14:34:20, 29 Apr. (844387.470000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
14:33:50, 29 Apr. (844356.960000) CWMP: session closed due to error: No response
14:33:49, 29 Apr. (844356.820000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
14:33:49, 29 Apr. (844356.810000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
14:33:49, 29 Apr. (844356.290000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 4 VALUE CHANGE

 

This is taken from a BTHub 5..

Regards..

12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

Not clear why you think those entries are drop-outs. They are the Hub "phoning home" to see if there is a relevant firmware update that should be applied.

Is that a HH5A or a 5B ?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,682
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

Your line was dropping out a fair bit on Saturday, but seems to have stablised since then:

 

 

 
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: broadband dropout..

I thought they were dropouts as they were happening at the time the hub was re-setting its-self.

The line has been better today; I've done speed checks over the weekend and where I was getting12/13 I am now getting 7/8 so something has happened somewhere.

Thanks for the replies..

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

If I'm not mistaken (always possible) you should find a sequence of entries starting with something like -

IPv6 Service: RA Server stop      ....(even thought there is no IPv6 running) ....then a few lines later

DSL Link Up:          .....with your speeds and SNR margin (depending on model/firmware) ...then later

some PPP entries.

In terms of what is happening now, do a copy and paste of the Helpdesk page (I'm assuming it's a Hub from your OP) but remember to redact the last part of your serial number, username, SSIDs, & MAC address.

Also run the BTw Performance test (DON'T REBOOT, ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test.
Do a Copy and Paste of the results and post here (no need to grab an image).

Also check your your Current Line speed (Login required) but don't post your phone number.

 

 

C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: broadband dropout..

Maybe not quite what's requested; prior to the automatic resetting of the hub all local connections were dropped.

As previously said speed has dropped from 12/13 Mb.

I have another hub that I can try, purely to satisfy myself that it isn't the HH that's causing the dropouts.

Incidentally, I think I said HH5, it's not the fibre one so it's the HH4.

 

14:20:28, 03 May. (242113.140000) DSL is up
14:20:27, 03 May. (242112.090000) DSL noise margin: 5.90 dB upstream, 9.00 dB downstream
14:20:26, 03 May. (242111.180000) DSL line rate: 1140 Kbps upstream, 9788 Kbps downstream
14:20:08, 03 May. (242093.950000) CWMP: session closed due to error: No response
14:20:08, 03 May. (242093.930000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
14:20:08, 03 May. (242093.930000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
14:19:38, 03 May. (242063.420000) CWMP: session closed due to error: No response
14:19:38, 03 May. (242063.400000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
14:19:38, 03 May. (242063.390000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
14:19:37, 03 May. (242062.900000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 4 VALUE CHANGE
14:19:36, 03 May. (242061.880000) DSL is down after 155 minutes uptime
14:19:36, 03 May. (242061.880000) ETHoA is down after 155 minutes uptime
14:19:36, 03 May. (242061.500000) PPPoA is down after 155 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN DSL -​ Up)]
14:19:33, 03 May. (242058.710000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]

11:43:44, 03 May. (232709.950000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
11:43:14, 03 May. (232679.380000) CWMP: session closed due to error: No response
11:43:13, 03 May. (232679.040000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
11:43:13, 03 May. (232679.030000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
11:43:13, 03 May. (232678.540000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 4 VALUE CHANGE
11:43:11, 03 May. (232676.240000) DSL is down after 2243 minutes uptime
11:43:11, 03 May. (232676.240000) ETHoA is down after 2243 minutes uptime
11:43:10, 03 May. (232675.870000) PPPoA is down after 2243 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN DSL -​ Up)]
11:43:08, 03 May. (232673.140000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]

Download speed 8.31 UPload speed 0.92 ping Latency 42.50


Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
8.9 Mb

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

 

These are the most important entries to watch out for, the DSL ones -

11:43:11, 03 May. (232676.240000) DSL is down after 2243 minutes uptime

14:19:36, 03 May. (242061.880000) DSL is down after 155 minutes uptime

when that happens you will see the corresponding PPP entries

11:43:11, 03 May. (232676.240000) ETHoA is down after 2243 minutes uptime
11:43:10, 03 May. (232675.870000) PPPoA is down after 2243 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN DSL -​ Up)]

14:19:36, 03 May. (242061.880000) ETHoA is down after 155 minutes uptime
14:19:36, 03 May. (242061.500000) PPPoA is down after 155 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN DSL -​ Up)]

And when your HH reconnects to the exchange

14:20:28, 03 May. (242113.140000) DSL is up
14:20:27, 03 May. (242112.090000) DSL noise margin: 5.90 dB upstream, 9.00 dB downstream
14:20:26, 03 May. (242111.180000) DSL line rate: 1140 Kbps upstream, 9788 Kbps downstream

I've underlined the key bit of information there, that'll most likely be the reason for the slower speed, the default target SNRM is 6dB.
Either the automatic DLM has responded to the dropping connection in an attempt to stabilise it, or if you have a fault ticket open then Plusnet may have manually set it higher which IMHO they should not have done! Raising the Target SNRM does not stabilise intermittent line connections !!  Having said that I wouldn't expect DLM to have responded to the low frequency of the connection drops suggested by the Vis.radius graph.

Looking at the pattern and the way things are changing, I'd guess it's an intermittent line issue rather than something like interference, but it's also always worth doing the relevant checks to minimise any susceptibility to interference issues. So here are the standard questions -

Can you hear/have you heard any crackling or other noises on the line when using the phone? Have you had any problems with incoming or outgoing calls? Try the Quiet Line Test 17070 option 2 if need be.
Do you have a Master Socket similar to the one on the left? Is it fitted with either of these?
Do you have any extension phone sockets - hard wired or plug in, and what is normally plugged in where? Do you use any extension leads between the phone socket and filter or filter and modem/router?
Do all your Microfilters look similar to this?

C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: broadband dropout..

Socket is middle one, not fitted with anything and microfilters the same.

I did change the microfilter and it looked like that helped until !!!!!

I've installed another router and that seems to have sorted things out, see info below.

       
Uptime: 1 day, 5:18:11
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,247 / 9,862
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 62.05 / 312.35

 

       
Link Status: IPv4 connected
  IPv6 disconnected
Uptime: 1 day, 1:15:12
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 48.14 / 267.75

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 8.4 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 8.7 Mbps

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.42Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

 

 Not much difference in the speed although the latency is down below 40 now; at least the connection has remained longer, so far !!

 
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

Obviously time will tell as the longest time that the HH was connected based on he log data was just over 37 hours, so some time to go yet.

Don't rely on the png time from the BT Speedtester or come to that any speedtester. If you want to get an accurate check on pings, open a command prompt and type      ping ntp.plus.net

Your speed won't increase until the sync speed goes up. This will require a reduction in the Target SNRM. Plusnet could do an SNR Reset if your line is no longer dropping, but again only time will tell.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

Just to clear up any remaining points, you didn't comment on these questions -

Can you hear/have you heard any crackling or other noises on the line when using the phone? Have you had any problems with incoming or outgoing calls? Try the Quiet Line Test 17070 option 2 if need be.
Do you have any extension phone sockets - hard wired or plug in, and what is normally plugged in where? Do you use any extension leads between the phone socket and filter or filter and modem/router?

A decent quality working line not prone to interference is needed for good quality broadband.

C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: broadband dropout..

No funny noises on the line or problems with calls.  I have always had a number of extensions connected before this disconnection started and, based on what has been happening it looks to me that the cause of the dropouts is related to the HH and subsequent changes to the connection brought about by frequent disconnections/reconnections.

I am not yet back to my 12/13 Mb speed that I had before this started so I'm hoping with the different router and fewer dropouts that the speed will return to my normal.  I'm still a bit suspicious  of the " BT phone home " you described as it appears the IP of the destination is " not available "..

nslookup bt.com
Server: 10.0.0.138
Address: 10.0.0.138#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: bt.com
Address: 193.113.9.164

nslookup pbthdm.bt.mo
Server: 10.0.0.138
Address: 10.0.0.138#53

** server can't find pbthdm.bt.mo: NXDOMAIN

nslookup plus.net
Server: 10.0.0.138
Address: 10.0.0.138#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: plus.net
Address: 212.159.9.2
Name: plus.net
Address: 212.159.8.2

----------------------------------------

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: broadband dropout..

I can assure you that there's absolutely nothing suspicious about it at all. That's not the full url of the "phone home" address shown in the log there which is why the nslookup won't find it Wink  In fact in some firmwares it's only shown as https://pbthdm.x.x.x;  It's all part of the ACS setup and uses a specific port (and protocol). If your logs go back far enough, you may see entries where an update took place.

The dropouts that you had, could easily be due to an intermittent line fault that has developed - unfortunately it does happen, and they can sometimes be a real pain to track down. It could also be due to some form of interference that's cropped up.

Now as far as your sockets and wiring go, the sort of thing that can happen is that some sort of periodic interference starts, and if your wiring isn't to the optimum standard, you connection suffers sufficient interference that is causes it to drop. So it's always best to try an ensure that you minimise the risk of that possibility. If you had an NTE5a master socket, that's why you are usually asked to connect to the test socket as removing the lower front plate isolates all other internal wiring (if it's correctly wired up) and testing from there would confirm if the problem was external.

As you have a slightly older Master socket, it's possible that the cable may be to an old standard, but with a bit of luck it will be the latest CW1308 twisted pair standard and it's simply a case of checking for the bell-wire issue.

How many extension sockets have you got, and what's plugged in where?

If you could also post the full current xDSL stats from your modem/router - that could be useful. The Sync speeds, SNRM and Attenuation are at least what would be good to see.

C1Rider
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: broadband dropout..

Been connected for 29 days and counting..