cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

broadband at 2 addresses?

Grafter

broadband at 2 addresses?

I was planning to recommend that my Mother signs up to PlusNet. However, she spends her time at 2 different addresses in the UK (different exchanges), so would ideally need to access broadband at both. However, the £40 cost of switching each time, and the 14 day wait, makes this a non-starter with PN. She moves several times a year.
Is there really no easy and cheap means of having such a flexible service - I'm discounting mobile broadband as I assume it is too expensive. She only needs a very basic (and cheap) service as she is a complete novice - only started to even use a computer recently.
Any ideas please?
7 REPLIES 7
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: broadband at 2 addresses?

Well Option 1 at £9.99 per month per house is as cheap as you'll get.
Remember BT would charge £16 per month for 1 line on their cheapest tariff, so £20 per month isn't at all bad.
itsme
Grafter

You have Bulldog that do Broadband a pay as you go at 1p per minute. But they have to be available at the exchange as you have to take their phone option.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Don't discount mobile broadband , it's not that expensive now. My daughter has a contarct for £14.99 a month with a 3Gb download limit. Check out 'Three' , 'O2' and 'Vodafone' they all have similar packages and whilst you'll never get 8 mbit speeds you should see at least 1.5 to 2 mbit.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

alanf
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 1

If mobile reception is adequate at the two addresses as Ian said don't rule that out as a solution
http://www.guardian.co.uk/money/2008/jan/12/internet.phones.broadband