cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

add a new mailbox problem

fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

add a new mailbox problem

I have just tried to add a new mail box, but it don't work. Sad
error message:
Invalid password, please read the instructions below

Is it just me or plus net problem ?  Huh
9 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 790
Thanks: 368
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

Quote from: fistsbs
I have just tried to add a new mail box, but it don't work. Sad
... Is it just me or plus net problem ?  Huh

From the PUG site (for all PlusNet/Force9/MetroNet/FreeOnline customers) there look to have been some recent issues with mailboxes (see for example thread starting at http://usergroup.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,4686.0.html , from 19-21 April).
With regard to actual mailbox set-up, John Elvin kindly gave me some step-by-step instructions (I'm not very clued-up on the technological stuff) at http://usergroup.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,3915.msg48834.html#msg48834 .
If the problem's with whatever you did on setting up the mailbox, that may well help Smiley  did for me, anyway, because I couldn't quite figure out what to do from whatever it said on the portal.
Regards,
Penny.
Penny Rollo * Force 9 from 17/02/98 * PlusNet from 2000 onwards
Project HappyChild - free maths worksheets, free French-English
worksheets and 12 other languages
personal site www.pennymidasrollo.plus.com
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,581
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

Quote from: fistsbs
I have just tried to add a new mail box, but it don't work. Sad
error message:
Invalid password, please read the instructions below

Is it just me or plus net problem ?  Huh

There aren't any problems as far as I'm aware. Could it be that you're attempting to use a password that's too long or contains characters that the system does not accept?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

12 characters long password don't work, now using 8 characters long password.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

Oops - that's an oversight! No guidance about the format of passwords on the mailbox creation page. Edit a mailbox and it does give the correct information.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
HSNetwork
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

I thought 8 characters lphanumeric was all that is accepted by the PN systems and servers?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

It is - but elsewhere it says that on the page where you create the password. When adding a new mailbox it does not.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,581
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

John,
We raised this as problem 42164.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

HSNetwork
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

Quote from: jelv
It is - but elsewhere it says that on the page where you create the password. When adding a new mailbox it does not.

Ah, I see. Its been goodness only knows how long ince ive used the plusnet mailboxes. Only thing I had to do was use the finger command when my mailserver was being rebooted or if my connection went down for any reason.
fistsbs
Grafter
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: add a new mailbox problem

If you edit the password, then still only 5 to 8 characters long.
You also can not have Upper case letters (A -Z)  Huh