cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

activation date but no broadband

phil272727
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-04-2013

activation date but no broadband


my activation date was today but i still have no broadband it connects to plusnet but my username and password dont seem to work
24 REPLIES
Harro
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 26-04-2013

Re: activation date but no broadband

Did you get the email saying Your broadband service is nearly ready?
Or a ticket that says
Provisioning of your ADSL Account Information
Install diary status changed from Supplier processing to ADSL Active
ADSL activated
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

phone them and they should fix it
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

Just to check: you are entering the login name as shown in the Always on broadband xDSL section of this page: https://portal.plus.net/my.html?s=0&action=refresh_browser ?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

Hi there,
Your previous provider has placed a cease on the phone line, we've been unable to take the line over as a result of this. In addition it's due to complete tomorrow, so you urgently need to contact them today and get that cease cancelled. If it's left past midnight your phone line - and broadband - will be ceased tomorrow and there's nothing we can do to stop it I'm afraid.
I tried to call to advise you of this but there's no mobile number on the account and the land line does not accept incoming calls :/
davenash
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-04-2013

Re: activation date but no broadband

Same issue here. Perfectly good connection yesterday. Switched today. Now have no connection. Not impressed. Spent 25 minutes waiting for my call to be answered only to be told they couldn't fix it & it may be a fault with my equipment which will cost £60 to sort
this is farcical. The connection has been perfectly sound until i swapped.  should have realised its cheap for a reason!
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

We have seen a rash of problems like this where people are switching from O2/Be, it's usually them that's to blame for putting a cease on the line when the procedure defined by OFCOM clearly says they shouldn't do that.
Are you coming from O2/Be?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

He's got his own thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,114519.0.html jelv. It sounds like an Openreach foul up.
@davenash
Support should have made the remarks about the £60 charge clearer. You would only be charged such a fee if an engineer was sent and IF the fault was in your own kit. Anyway further comment in your own thread.
phil272727
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-04-2013

Re: activation date but no broadband

phoned bt they have said they will not cancel the cease and plusnet must provide me with a new phone number. where do i stand from here?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

Was your previous supplier BT?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
phil272727
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-04-2013

Re: activation date but no broadband

yes
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 930
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

Did you get a MAC from BT and give it to Plusnet?
Did you tell BT that you were cancelling the serve with them and/or wanted your account closed?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
phil272727
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-04-2013

Re: activation date but no broadband

broadband is working fine now. got activated this morning but the line will cease tomorrow so will be back off again
phil272727
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 29-04-2013

Re: activation date but no broadband

yes bt was advised of cancellation and we provided a mac code to plusnet
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: activation date but no broadband

Your mistake was to cancel, you should just use a MAC and just transfer the phone service.
Why are BT refusing to cancel the cease? It's your line presumably? Are you in dispute with them about any bills or anything?
If there is no dispute, ring them back, tell them you are instructing them as the customer to cancel the cease and if they do not do so you will take the matter to OFCOM and you will take them to court and sue them for consequential losses. If you are stuck with some foreign call centre person who doesn't seem to understand you or you can't understand them, tell them very clearly you are complaining, and want to speak to some one in the UK immediately.