cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

I just tried my new 582n router, and it seems to be looking for DSL sync, with no obvious way of telling it to use PPPoE through an external modem.
Product Name:	TG582n
Serial Number: <removed>
Software Release: 8.4.4.J
Software Variant: BV
Boot Loader Version: 1.0.5
Product Code: 3701603B
Board Name: DANT-T

Also, I couldn't find anywhere in the welcome guide which tells me which port to connect the VDSL modem to (I guessed port 4).
Have I been sent a regular 582n? If so, is there any way for me to flash it with the fibre firmware?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,364
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

That's about the third in as many days. Huh
Check the thread here for the fibre firmware http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,109784.0.html
edit: added links here for convenience
link to firmware http://www.binarybob.plus.com/thomson/firmware/PN%20TG582n%20R8CM0%20DG%20FTTC.bin
and flashing instructions http://community.plus.net/library/hardware/how-to-upgradedowngrade-the-firmware-on-the-thomson-585v7...
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

Strange, when did we send it? I can't see that we've dispatched one on your account so that's very odd.
Can you PM me the serial number and I'll take a look?
And yes, you should be able to flash it using the info in this post (and the following reply to it)
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,109784.msg948976.html#msg948976
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,364
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

@Chris,
Have you seen this thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,110931.0.html . To me that sounds like an ADSL router rather than a Fibre one, Broadband light pulsing, trying to find a DSL signal methinks...
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

Thanks MisterW
I've seen a couple of these over the last few days, for those of you that seem to have received the incorrect firmware on the router can you let me know the 'Item Code' that's shown on the front of the box (normally on the label in the top right corner).
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

Thanks for your replies. Flashing the FTTC firmware now.
My box says 066109 for the item code.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Wrong firmware on Fibre 582n?

Thanks!
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff