Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless speeds - need for a sticky?

PeeGee
Pro
Fixes: 3

Wireless speeds - need for a sticky?

With all the complaints about wireless speeds, it seems to me that a sticky specific to this problem could be of benefit. It's obvious I'm not an expert, rarely using wireless, but something along the lines of (with more accurate information😞
There are many queries/complaints regarding wireless speeds that result from the inherent limitations of the technology combined with local conditions. It is, therefore, not possible to give definitive figures on the throughput which should be achieved.
Wireless connections are prone to problems resulting from congestion/interference and using mixed standards as a small group of frequencies are used for all "conversations". Unlike modern wired connections, which are duplex (i.e. can transmit and receive simultaneously) and point-to-point, wireless connections are usually half-duplex (i.e. can only transmit or receive at any one time unless they use different frequencies for transmit and receive) and require additional overheads to manage "collisions" between transmitting devices sharing the spectrum or switching between sending and receiving.
Each wireless channel uses 20MHz (it's own 5MHz plus 7.5MHz = 1.5 channel widths either side), hence the general advice to keep at least a 2 channel separation from other strong signals and why routers default to channels 1, 6 or 11.