Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless security...newbie question!

glosoldspot
Grafter

Wireless security...newbie question!

Hi all,
Just switched to Plusnet and this is my first time with a wireless router. My question is about router security settings. Is the Thomson router firewalled? If so is there any other means I need or should take to protect my internet/laptop security to help prevent others using and hacking into my router?
I'm very much not tech savvy so if anyone answers can they make it as 'layman terms' as possible please!!!
10 REPLIES 10
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Re: Wireless security...newbie question!

The router does have a firewall and comes with protection to deter people from hacking into your router, no need to worry about that.
Always good to have anti virus and a firewall on your laptop too - do you currently have these?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
scootie
Grafter

try to use wpa/wpa2 encpt on your wireless only only use wep if you have a device that will not connect  to your wireless using wpa encpt.
changing the default password to acess your routers web interface is allways a gd idea to
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Welcome to the forum glosoldspot.
Changing the admin password on the router as Asbo has said is very important as it helps to prevent outsiders from logging into your router and changing settings.
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Santiago
Grafter

As well as wep and wpa security you can also set up an Access Control list (MAC address filtering). This will only allow  access from authorised computers's MAC addresses.
glosoldspot
Grafter

Ok...here goes!
I've got an anti virus programme and windows firewall.