cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless issues TG582n

welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Wireless issues TG582n

Anyone else having problems with their Technicolour router?
Mine keeps losing signal, a may buy a new router. Plusnet did say if i sign up to a new contract they will send me a new router, a Sagem 2704n.
Thanks
dick:green Title edited after merge to better reflect the problem.
21 REPLIES
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 685
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

That is a very broad question.
Can you post the stats from your Router
What Firmware version does it have?
Router loses the signal? or the wifi drops out?
When "it" loses the signal what lights are on the router?
welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

How do i find out the stats?
The software release is 8.4.4.J
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 685
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

Log into your router  192.168.1.254  
then   Click on Broadband connection then click  click view more in the dsl connection part then click details on top left  RIGHT corner.
Latest Firmware is 10.2.2 B   maybe Plusnet can push it to you tomorrow if you ask them
welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 3:37:37
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 4,402
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 69.88 / 768.07
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 685
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

There should be more? - did you click on "details"  whoops sorry - Top RIGHT corner.
You also seem to on ADSL2 - which exchange is that?
welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers


Physical Connectivity OK
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 4:11:33
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 440 / 4,402
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 87.62 / 833.17
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.6 / 51.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.6 / 3.5
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 111 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 158 / 1,082,951
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 4 / 189
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 3 / 2,140

Im on the Neath exchange 
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 685
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers


Well I can see a few odd figures in there unfortunately I dont know enough to know what they mean, and what little I do know may not be relevant if not on
adsl2plus.
That seems a lot of errors in 4 hours so maybe a line fault BUT  no "drops" in that time
Router loses the signal? or the wifi drops out?
When "it" loses the signal what lights are on the router?
Margins are odd "up" is higher than the norm or even a raised fig of 9
whereas the "down" is on the low side which may be reflected in the high error rate.
Attenuation of 51db - are you approx 3.7km from the exchange? (Route the line might take.)
Maybe PN staff will post a radius graph showing drops for last week.
welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

Im about 3 miles from the exchange.
Next time the signal drop i will check the router.
Seems to be working ok for the last few hours, fingers crossed!!!  Tho i do notice  that after 11pm the signal does get worse for some reason?
welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Firmware for Technicolour TG582n router

How can i upgrade to a newer firmware? My router is 8.4.4.j
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 685
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

After 10pm speeds can drop as the signal is affected by external interference in the south east of the country even more so
as it is affected by European Radio stations. Not a lot anyone can do about that.
Another cause could be congestion as it seems many gamers go on line from 10pm - 2am
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Firmware for Technicolour TG582n router

I can do it from here for you if you like? Let me know (probably best to PM me as I may not be around later today on the forums), the process takes around 10 minutes and means you'll lose connection for that period.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n routers

Quote from: cedlor
Latest Firmware is 10.2.2 B   maybe Plusnet can push it to you tomorrow if you ask them

If you'd like me to then yup, I can arrange this.
Quote
Maybe PN staff will post a radius graph showing drops for last week.

There are a few drops showing, nothing too concerning though:

If you keep seeing issues it may be worth reporting to us at https://faults.plus.net
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
welshguy2010
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: Firmware for Technicolour TG582n router

Yeah that would be great, let me know when your on here next
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 685
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Firmware for Technicolour TG582n router

Hi  If you just send Chris a PM (Personal Message) he will pick it up next time he is in.
To send a PM click on his name and scroll down to the bottom of the page pm link is 3 lines up.
You will need to leave the router connect up and on - I dont think you need to be there.