cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless connection

fgorwood
Dabbler

Wireless connection

Please could you help me. I’m a teacher trying to work from home on Google Apps such as Google drive. I cannot upload any files to google drive and when working online my connection constantly drops (usually immediately when I open google drive/docs or slides). I have been a plus net customer for a number of years but only ever had an updated router once. Could this be causing the problem? Please advise as at the moment it is proving impossible for me to use the internet for work at home.
Many thanks
F Gorwood
30 REPLIES 30
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Wireless connection

@fgorwood Welcome to the forums. Which router do you have, and what is your speed like? If you give us that information, we can possibly make suggestions. Is it possible to use an ethernet connection?

John
fgorwood
Dabbler

I have used an Ethernet cable but still have the same problem trying to upload anything. My router is a Plusnet 2704N but I’m not sure how to find the speed ?
jab1
Legend

Thanks for coming back, @fgorwood . If you are on ADSL, trying to upload whilst simultaneously download, you will almost certainly fail, especially using the 2704N - it suffers from excessive 'buffer-bloat' which will effectively lock it up.

To determine your speed run https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ , ensuring you run the 'further diagnostics', and paste thefinal results into a reply.

John
fgorwood
Dabbler

Please see attached image. I can't seem to find out my Broadband ID or access line ID so have not been able to run the further diagnostic test. I don't know if the attached file helps?

jab1
Legend

No file attatched - and you use your landline phone number in the correct field.

John
fgorwood
Dabbler

Here is the performance test report. Many thanks for trying to help.

jab1
Legend

OK - those figures don't look too good, so we need to delve a little deeper.