cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

TBSteve
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 28-01-2010

Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

Hi,
  I have a new router - Netgear-N 150 (WNR1000v3), and I am having trouble connecting to it with all my devices.
Using WEP 64-bit I can connect no problem with my PC and my Ipod - but my Sony Ericsson Elm Phone will not connect.
Using no security I can connect all devices no problems.
So what I have done is left the router with no WEP security, but I have setup Wireless Access Control and stored the MAC addresses of the 3 devices.
Is that secure? Noother devices can/should connect as they are not on the access list, but there is no WEP or WPA, so is it secure?
I didn't have this issue with my old router - Netgear 834G - but I can't switch back, as the new router was supplied as part of the FTTC trial. :-)
Any help greatly appreciated.
Steve
6 REPLIES
TBSteve
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 28-01-2010

Re: Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

I probaby should RTFM  Wink
It says this:
"WARNING!
MAC address filtering adds an obstacle against unwanted access to your network by the general public.
However, because your trusted MAC addresses appear in your wireless transmissions, an intruder can
read them and impersonate them. Do not rely on MAC address filtering alone to secure your network."
I must try a different key other than WEP, see if that makes a difference.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,529
Thanks: 766
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

WEP is pretty insecure anyway, you should be using WPA.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
TBSteve
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 28-01-2010

Re: Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

Thanks Jelv.
I changed it to be WPA now.
All devices connected now too.
Not sure why WEP was not working with my phone on the new router.
But its all ok now, and hopefully more secure too. :-)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,101
Registered: 10-09-2010

Re: Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

I'd definitely say, stay away from WEP.
Hacking WEP is trivial, and many Linux OS's have tools in their repository's for doing it quickly, easily and really without the user having to know very much about anything.
I'm afraid WPA is heading the same way but it at least hasn't reached the levels of triviality that WEP has.
TBSteve
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 28-01-2010

Re: Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

Thanks for the advice - I've switched to WPA, I will probably stick there,  atleast until I get a new PC, as i think WPA2 might be a bit more resource intensive.
[Moderator's note by Dick (Strat):  Full quote of preceding post removed, as per Forum Rules ]
Edit: Oops - Sorry.
knowdice
Grafter
Posts: 328
Registered: 25-04-2008

Re: Wireless Access Control enabled - but NO WEP - is this secure?

Problem with WEP is getting the "key" right - some devices you enter as ASCII some Hex....
But you shouldn't be using it now in any case...