cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 7 64 bit

MightyMouse
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Windows 7 64 bit

At long last after much deliberation, Last Wednesday, I purchased a new Computer, which runs on Windows 7 64 bit 
It also runs on Windows Explorer  64 bit, although  I do have the option  of Eplorer 32 bit .
I do seem to be getting through  more of my allowance  since having my new machine.
Does Eplorer 64 bit take more to run than 32 bit ?
Also some sites don't work properly on 64 bit  as they require  Adobe flash ?, which Adobe do  not have in 64 bit as yet ( hope i've got that right).
As I have now retired, I do not need Explorer  which was required to run the company ordering site . Would it be worth considering using another browser such as Google Chrome for example. ?
Thaking you in advance for your help.
25 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,915
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

Quote from: MightyMouse
Does Eplorer 64 bit take more to run than 32 bit ?

No.
Quote from: MightyMouse
Also some sites don't work properly on 64 bit  as they require  Adobe flash ?, which Adobe do  not have in 64 bit as yet ( hope i've got that right)

Yes that's right and perfectly normal
Quote from: MightyMouse
Would it be worth considering using another browser such as Google Chrome for example. ?

No harm in installing them to see if you prefer the way the operate but they won't consume less of your allowance.  Unless, perhaps, if you start experimenting with add-ons; I believe Firefox has one that stops advertisements from downloading.
MightyMouse
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

Many thanks for your reply, it's been  a great help.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

Personally I consider any 64-bit browser is still rather "experimental" so I only use the 32-bit versions with W7x64.
32-bit IE is perfectly functional and I would ignore 64-bit IE for now.
If you prefer a different browser for whatever rerason, go ahead, it will be 32-bit anyway.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-06-2007

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

^^ What he said  Smiley
I've used Win7 x64 pretty much since beta, and my browser of choice on it is Chrome.
B.
julesandsand
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

I use Chrome on W7 64 bit and much prefer it to both FF in IE. There is also an Adblocker extension for Chrome.
MightyMouse
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

If I download   Chrome   do I have to delete Explorer  or can I still retain it ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

retain it - you can have as many different browsers as you like
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

You can have loads of browsers, but one of them will need to be set as "default" which is easily changed.
Many will also import settings/favourites from others.
Think I've got about 5 on my W7x64 system, used for various different reasons.
IE is still my default though, some things (especially Microsoft-related) just work better with it, but others don't.
Personally I don't like Chrome, especially it's snooping habits, but "each to his own" as they say.
If you do like the Chrome interface (which again I don't) then look at SRware Iron, the "de-loused" version of Chrome.
See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SRWare_Iron
MightyMouse
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

Many thanks !
julesandsand
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

I've kept IE as I use remote record for Sky HD and the EPG doesn't display in Chrome. Other than that I've had no problems with it.
julesandsand
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

The SRWare site appears to be down.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

julesandsand
Grafter
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

Yup - back up. (I did suspect that Chrome wouldn't let me on it)
newthing
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎06-09-2007

Re: Windows 7 64 bit

Running Win 7 64bit here since...(May2009)...
good experience, I use IE 8 32bit, most of the IE64 code is alledged to be 32bit in a wrapper anyway, also the flash situation.
Nevertheless - IE 32bit is fine, everything on win 7 x64 is in general musch more stable,
probably the umpteen gigs of physical memory, and mapped  neatly onto 16-24 gigs SSD pagefile.
Adobe keep claiming the flash 64 bit plugin ready 'real soon now', opinion is it won't be, given few people running Internet Explorer x64
and enourmous dev. costs involved, running parallel x86 / x64 dev. teams. See adobe labs beta forum site for detail.
(Chrome is my favourite altenative to IE - v.snappy - intriguing info on  developer. tab)).
Good luck and enjoy.
Toby