cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 10 DNS problems

bluefishcs

Windows 10 DNS problems

I work as a self employed computer engineer, I have now been to 4 different households in the last couple of weeks that have had problems accessing websites since upgrading to Windows 10.  Websites load intermittently, sometimes they loads other times they take ages and sometimes they result in page not displayed.

They all have a PlusNet router and all used the routers DNS, if they have other devices that are not Windows 10 such as iPads and phones there are no problems at all.

This appears to be a problem with the way the router handles DNS requests because if you change the DNS on the Windows 10 computer to OpenDNS it instantly fixes the problem.  Switching it back to use the routers DNS again and the problems reappear. It's not the machines that have the problem because if you take them and attach them to a non-plusnet network they behave normally.

Looking on the Internet other users are having the same problem, so PlusNet are you planning to roll out a fix for this?

Changing the DNS on the router is not an option as it's locked so it's very inconvenient having to change every Windows 10 device manually and something users shouldn't have to be doing!

18 REPLIES 18
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Re: Windows 10 DNS problems

Hi there,

We're aware of this issue and investigating it at the moment.

If you're able to get any of the affected customers usernames to us we can add them as examples to the problem investigation and also push updates to the routers of those affected which should resolve it.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 25

Which Plusnet router? If it's the Technicolor 582n, I assume it's the 198.18.1.x address problems issue.

rachpaton