Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wifi Drops when wired connection is also plugged in

jrd1
Hooked

Wifi Drops when wired connection is also plugged in

Hi

I had been using Plusnet Hub One's wifi successfully for a few months. I have now also plugged in a wired connection - to reach a point in the house that wifi doesnt reach reach. The effect of this has meant that the wifi now keeps dropping out on the closer devices.

I have tried the usual suggested Plusnet checks, resets, and splitting the frequencies - none have resolved the issue. Is there anything further and does a firmware need to be pushed through?

I am running 4.7.5.1.83.8.263.

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: Wifi Drops when wired connection is also plugged in

The effect of this has meant that the wifi now keeps dropping out on the closer devices.

Are the devices dropping out, on the 5ghz band only , or does it affect devices on both 5ghz and 2.4ghz ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jrd1
Hooked

Devices still drop on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser

Thanks, that means it's not the problem I thought it might be. That only affects 5ghz devices.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jrd1
Hooked

Thanks for trying. Any other solutions would be greatly appreciated.

As soon as I unplug the wired connection the wifi connections are fine again, so it is definitely something that the wired connection is doing that is effecting it.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser

I see you've posted in the ADSL board but you have a Hub One? Normally the Hub one is only supplied with a Fibre connection.

Do you actually have a Fibre connection or is it just ADSL ?