cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wierd sync speeds

Uro
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎26-06-2013

Wierd sync speeds

Hi all, I have a bit of a query some of you with more experience with the workings of DSL may be able to help with.
I've been having a few DSL disconnects in the past week.  I dont know if BT are upgrading infrastructure in my area or not.  But I was getting a solid 5-6meg down/ 1 meg up for months, no speed drops etc. 
The day before yesterday my router dropped and reconnected at it's usual sync speeds.  Then yesterday it dropped and synced at 10 meg, although I did a speedtest and was still only getting my usual 5-6 meg (Line profile is set to the maximum I could get whilst still being stable).  Then today just as I was about to hop into a game of BF3 my router dropped again.  So I went in for a look and it's now resynced at it's old speed. 
I was previously told that the 5-6 meg I get is the most my line will handle, I'm right next to BT's main depot here, new housing estate, grey box is ~50m from my door, so it's all new cabling here except obviously for the cable from my grey box to the exchange.
So howcome I synced at 10 meg for ~24 hours?
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Wierd sync speeds

Hi there,
I've taken a look over your connection and can see over the past week or so your speeds have fluctuated, not just yesterday.

Are you able to connect into your test socket?

Uro
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎26-06-2013

Re: Wierd sync speeds

That's me plugged into the test socket now.   Do you need me to copy/paste any information from the router for you?
Here's the DSL Status:
Uptime: 0 days, 0:03:28
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.231 / 11.871
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 365,82 / 1,06
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16,9 / 34,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,1 / 6,1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 15 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 16
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 38
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Wierd sync speeds

Thats looks better, I've adjusted your profile to match your sync speed rate so you should now see a speed increase.
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13722467699329.png"/>
Your connection seems to have been fairly stable, I'd suggest leaving in the test socket and monitoring over a few days.
Uro
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎26-06-2013

Re: Wierd sync speeds

I could do that, I'm gonna need to find a longer ethernet cable now to wire my PS3 in though, gaming over wifi is blasphemy  Grin
Uro
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎26-06-2013

Re: Wierd sync speeds

The new profile seems to be kicking in already, thanks matey Cheesy
Hopefully now it'll stay stable, I'll leav it in the test socket for a few days Smiley
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Wierd sync speeds

Glad to see......let me know how it goes Smiley
Uro
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎26-06-2013

Re: Wierd sync speeds

So, I left my router in the test socket for a few days as per instructed,  I noticed the Internet LED would blink red occasionally, and sometimes it was red solid (Only when I was going from room to room (master/test socket is in a cupboard))  Note: I was still connected to the internet.
Got home yesterday and it was back to green, so I moved my router back to it's usual space (worked fine there for over a year), replaced the test socket cover etc, figuring it may have just been my profile adjusting that was making the led turn red.
My line has been stable all the while until tonight when the Internet LED was red blinking for a time, then went to green solid for a few hours, then at 22:50 I get disconnected for a few minutes, router spouting that my line doesn't have dsl etc.
So I get reconnected and my up/down sync speed has dropped again.
So I've gone from a fairly steady up/down sync for the past year, to one that's went to more than double my lowest sync speed and is slowly decreasing with random disconnections. the last disconnect dropped my line by .5meg up / 2meg down.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Wierd sync speeds

I'd suggest running through our faults troubleshooter and the diagnostic questions, we'll then take a closer look at you connection if your issue still remains.