cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wi-Fi issue just joined Plusnet

sueandken743
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-06-2016

Wi-Fi issue just joined Plusnet

Good afternoon.  We're new to the community, so are wondering if anyone can help please.

 

On 1st June, we moved our phone and broadband from BT to Plusnet.  The router model 2704N was set up according to the instructions. We spent more than three hours trying to get on the internet.  Gave up in despair, and phoned Plusnet. Spent an hour on the telephone to [Removed],who was very pleasant and helpful.  She guided us through a set-up, as it seems the problem was their end and not ours. 

She eventually helped get one Windows 10 laptop connected - first via the Ethernet cable, and then wi-fi.  We found the Samsung Galaxy Tab3 tablet also connected, but the other laptop running Windows 8.1 refused to connect.[Removed] was unable to establish what the problem was.  Everything was working fine until we were disconnected from BT.  

We eventually managed to get the 8.1 laptop working by trial and error, but the next morning, the connection had gone again. We used the Ethernet cable to try and get back online, and that worked until the laptop was turned off.  Once on again, the issue was repeated.

We have also had a 'limited' broadband notification come up.  Wi-fi is enabled on the laptop and the correct wi-fi password key has been put in several times. The strange thing is that when we click on the icon in the task bar of this laptop, it shows we have internet access, but we don't.  It's very hit and miss!

 

This afternoon, we've changed the filter which is connected to the main socket, and also rebooted the router. However, we're not convinced this is going to solve the problem.

Please does anyone have any idea what else we can do to sort this out - preferably in a way that's not too technical. We'd appreciate any help you could give.  Thank you Smiley

 

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav) CSA name removed as per Forum rules

4 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,551
Thanks: 663
Fixes: 50
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Wi-Fi issue just joined Plusnet

If you've still got your BT router then why not try that, you'll just need to configure it with your PlusNet login details. See the guide here https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/Use-a-BT-Hub-2-3-4-or-5-on-a-Plusnet-connection/m-p/1192202#...

sueandken743
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-06-2016

Re: Wi-Fi issue just joined Plusnet

Thank you, that's worth a try.  Not sure though if BT will be wanting us to return their router.

Gel
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,536
Thanks: 159
Fixes: 12
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Wi-Fi issue just joined Plusnet

Make sure your network settings are set to automatic, as arrowed.(attached)

They may be set to specific addresses of your last provider.

sueandken743
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-06-2016

Re: Wi-Fi issue just joined Plusnet

Thanks Gel.  That box you arrowed wasn't ticked, so will see if that works Smiley