cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

First of all, I try to puzzle myself of why is my line is much higher sync rate than my mum line sync rate. We both are same telephone exchange, same distance, same street, same house. My mum line only get sync rate of 9725K compare to my line sync rate of 20031K. We both on same on ADSL2+ but I do feel that my mum's line should deserved a better line speed like mine is. BT profile on my line is 17.6Mb while BT restrict my mum line of just 8.5Mb. But, my mum only need internet for checking email, fb and family history, nothing else. I think extra speed is no different to her web surfing & email.
Are the exchange limit my mum line capped at 9725K at all times ?
18 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

As you are well aware the only way to check what the difference is is when you compare the actual router stats of the two lines
So how about providing the information
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

My line stat:
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 20031 kbps 1279 kbps
Line Attenuation 31.5 db 17.4 db
Noise Margin 0.5 db 6.9 db
My mum line stat:
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 9725 kbps 1188 kbps
Line Attenuation 30.0 db 16.0 db
Noise Margin 6.0 db 9.0 db
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Your line is only hanging on by a wing and a prayer. Are you forcing the noise margin down?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

My line is stable for nearly 16 days now without any loss of connection or sync drop. SNR is stable 0.3-0.5db during day and 0.5-0.7db during evening and overnight. BT limit snr at 3.0dB and my router had snr tweak down to 0.5dB myself 16 days ago.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

A large chuck of the difference is down to you forcing the noise margin. Does your Mum leave the router on 24x7?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Yes my mum always leave the router on 24/7 never switched off. Same here with my router. But my mum got very old router Netgear DG834 (7 years old)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Has it been updated to the latest firmware?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Yes
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Have you tried swapping routers and checking the result.
To avoid totally messing up your profile why not just try your router on your Mum's connection
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

I did try my router on my mum line and amazing still the same sync at 9725K, I tweak snr on her line from 6dB to 1.0dB and still the same 9725K meaning exchange limit her sync rate capped!
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

I think that answers the question - the line may well have been banded
In order for that to be lifted (assuming it is with Plusnet as well) is to advise a ticket number from the account so that a rep can have a look
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Yes indeed! How to removed banded ?
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Hi goldenadsl,
I can't remember which threads they were on, but I've answered that before a few times. The reason is because your mum's line is banded, so the sync won't go any higher. As I suggested then, since it's been banded it's been very stable, so I don't think it's worth doing anything to it for that extra meg or so.
Jojo Smiley
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Why is my line higher sync than my mum's line sync?

Yeah I suppose so! Poor mum stuck at 8.5Mb as she used to be on 12Mb before.