cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

As per title
Why is this on / going through a restricted server / gateway
[quote= CMD File= tracert]C:\Users\Media-PC>tracert ntp.plus.net
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.6.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    23 ms    98 ms    98 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    32 ms    31 ms    31 ms lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.75]
  3    31 ms    36 ms    32 ms  link3-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [84.93.248.68]
  4    34 ms    31 ms    31 ms  192.core.plus.net [212.159.1.192]
  5    33 ms    32 ms    *    te9-4.ptn-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.33]
  6    31 ms    35 ms    37 ms  cdns02.plus.net [212.159.6.10]
Trace complete.
When checking the gateway using http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
It shows me as on
[quote= http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/]Which gateway
You are currently connected to gateway ptw-ag03.
This is located in Telehouse West.
& it does not matter which DNS I use, as tested with GoogleDNS 8.8.8.8 / 8.84.4,  OpenDNS 208.67.222.222 / 208.67.220.220 & PlusnetDNS 212.159.6.9 / 212.159.6.10
Please note:
This is just a query & not a support issue, as my connection is quite stable
As can be seen

For reference:
Thurs 10th correlates with the times I had to restart / factory reset the router to gain a suitable connection
I hope it have not disturbed the 3db profile, so far it does not appear to have had an effect on it
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,109
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

The gateway checker does the traceroute in the opposite direction to a tracert command run from your computer, so it will probably see different IP addresses with different reverse DNS entries. Probably the reverse DNS entry for 195.166.128.75 is out of date / incorrect.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

Hi,
Looks like the reverse DNS record is wrong as you're actually connected to ptw-bng01, pte-ag02 was retired a long time ago but the IP addresses were reused so looks like that IP got missed when they did the records. I'll get it raised internally to get corrected.
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

Cheer to both ejs & dave
@dave
will I have to do anything else my end ?Huh
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

You won't have to change anything in your setup TORPC, except wait for the DNS changes to propagate, at least 24 hours usually.
That's RPM to you!!
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: Why a (lo0-restricted.pte-ag2.plus.net) since BT outage

Cheers RPMozley Smiley