cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which is best: I-Plate or Master Faceplate Filter?

mikealexander
Grafter

Which is best: I-Plate or Master Faceplate Filter?

I read recently about the i-Plate (http://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/3838-video-guide-how-to-install-a-bt-i-plate.html), which in many cases can improve the speed of your broadband connection. Having done a little more background research, I'm not sure whether a Master Faceplate Filter (such as http://www.clarity.it/xcart/product.php?productid=16134&cat=262&page=1 or http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?ProductID=3306) provides all the benefits of an I-Plate, plus a built-in microfilter that also means I don't need external microfilters on my extensions.
For background, I have a BT NTE5 master socket, two extension sockets from the master and live approx. 1.4km from my exchange. My ADSL modem/router reports the following stats:
DownstreamUpstream
Connection Speed7648 kbps448 kbps
Line Attenuation31 db7.5 db
Noise Margin7 db26 db

Can anyone advise on whether a Master Faceplate Filter will give me all the benefits of an I-Plate and what improvement in speed I'm likely to see?
14 REPLIES 14
James
Grafter

Re: Which is best: I-Plate or Master Faceplate Filter?

Hi Mike,
To be honest, I wouldn't expect you to see any improvement in speed at all.  Removing interleaving might bump your speed up a bit though.
I doubt you'd see any difference between an iPlate and a filtered faceplate.
mikealexander
Grafter

Thanks Jameseh.
Why wouldn't you expect any increase in speed? (Even a small increase would be appreciated!) From what I've read, almost all homes with extension wiring from the master socket (as mine) should see some benefit with an I-Plate.
Does a Master Faceplate Filter offer the same "Bell Wire filtering" (?) as an I-Plate?
How would I go about removing interleaving, and what are the pros/cons of doing so?
James
Grafter

Hi Mike,