cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Question has popped up a couple of times recently (http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/plusnet/4282360-can-plusnet-change-fttc-dlm-settings.html).
From Openreach (http://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/products/super-fastfibreaccess/fibretothecabinet/fttc/downloads/GEA_FTTC_4.pdf):
Quote
Match the way a line is managed to the way  your customer uses it:
Standard – best overall balance between speed and stability for general internet users
Stable – prioritise stability over speed for  IPTV videoconferencing, home workers and businesses transferring data and IPTV
Speed – prioritise speed over stability for online gamers.

What is the technical difference between the three?
Can a PN user request a change to suit their usage?
15 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Hi AndyH,
By default we opt for the 'Standard' option. We can place a modify order for the other two options you have mentioned by request.
Standard and Speed are pretty close together to be honest. Stable will bring the speed down more if the connection becomes unstable.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
jamesanstee
Grafter
Posts: 475
Thanks: 5
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

How do we request this modify order as i know im on standard but would like to speed profile.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

You can request this by raising a ticket at http://contactus.plus.net
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Why do BT Wholesale use a conflicting set of terms for the DLM profiles?
Quote
Dynamic Line management (DLM) to extend coverage and stability, giving more control over the applications WBC FTTC Customers and Reseller Customers can sell with tailored profiles such as Standard, Stable or Superstable

Source: http://br0kent3l3ph0n3.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/bt-wbc-fttc-product-iss-4-5-1-11-3.pdf
Are these ('Standard', 'Stable', 'Superstable') the same thing as the OR profiles ('Speed', 'Standard', 'Stable')
Since Plusnet use WBC FTTC (I presume) wouldn't they be applying those profiles ('Standard', 'Stable', 'Superstable') rather than the OR profiles?
Or am I just getting confused? Undecided
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

You're correct. For some reason Openreach and BT Wholesale give them different names but they are exactly the same products!
We know which are which so we can easily find the right one and place a modify order for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Chris,
You need to reply to this thread and train some agents http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/plusnet/f/4282360-can-plusnet-change-fttc-dlm-settings.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Just to clarify fully please, is Plusnet (home rather than business) FTTC provisioned on OR 'Standard' (BTw 'Stable') or BTw 'Standard' (OR 'Speed') or ??  Huh
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
jamesanstee
Grafter
Posts: 475
Thanks: 5
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Trying to raise a ticket to request the profile modify order for speed its just taking me back to the same page on a loop so cannot raise a ticket maybe the ticket system could be made a bit more user friendly.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

@Oldjim - Thanks for linking me to that, I'll address that.
@w23 - We place orders labelled on BT Wholesale as 'Standard' which is equivalent to 'Speed' on BT Openreach's documentation.
@jamesanstee - Not sure why it;s doing that, can you try clearing your Cache and Cookies and trying again please?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
jamesanstee
Grafter
Posts: 475
Thanks: 5
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Modify order request submitted ticket 77214038
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Just to clarify:
BT Wholesale 'Standard' = Openreach 'Speed'
BT Wholesale 'Stable' = Openreach 'Standard'
BT Wholesale 'Super Stable' = Openreach 'Stable'
I hope that makes sense!
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: 23-04-2013

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

My Question was already answered
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Quote from: Chris
Just to clarify:
BT Wholesale 'Standard' = Openreach 'Speed'
BT Wholesale 'Stable' = Openreach 'Standard'
BT Wholesale 'Super Stable' = Openreach 'Stable'
I hope that makes sense!

pretty daft by bt wholesale as they always making too complication for us to get confusion by this.
RCrozier
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 29-10-2013

Re: Which DLM profile do PN provision FTTC lines on?

Would any of these options decrease my latency? Cheesy