cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What should my upload be?

cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

What should my upload be?

I have the Broadband Extra (ADSL) package with yourselves and I'm just wondering what the upload ceiling should be. My attachments are taking forever to upload (5mb each) .
I've done a speed test at Speedtest.net, maybe that could shed a bit of light on to the subject.
I'm also only about 100m from the exchange.


Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 2:40:52
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,092 / 7,296
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7,232
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/GB]: 0.00 / 1.80
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 11.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2.0 / 6.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.0 / 15.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,033
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: What should my upload be?

About 0.38Mb/s    Undecided
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: What should my upload be?

Quote from: purleigh
About 0.38Mb/s    Undecided

So that points to there being a problem then doesn't it because the speedtest.net result shows a third of that!?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: What should my upload be?

Probably ! - as you can see from the bottom of my posts, I get pretty much the full 20CN speed yet I am more than 500 metres from the exchange.
Have you tried plugging your router into the 'TEST' socket, located behind the faceplate on your 'MASTER' phone socket (where the cable comes into your house) ?.
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: What should my upload be?

I'll give it a whirl.....
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: What should my upload be?

Quote from: cookertron
I'll give it a whirl.....

...... nope no different!
I'm just waiting for a speedtest from BT (1 hour per test, didn't save info from the last one) and see what my IP profile is reporting.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: What should my upload be?

When you say 'no different' has the line in your router that says -
Quote
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7,232

is that 7232 the same ?
Also is the router plugged into the front of the 'MASTER' socket, or is it in the 'TEST' socket INSIDE the MASTER socket housing (behind the screwed on white faceplate) ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,692
Thanks: 916
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: What should my upload be?

How do you connect to your router, wired or wireless?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: What should my upload be?

BT RESULTS:
 Download speedachieved during the test was - 5217 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :7424 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 6000 Kbps

My line is plugged into the TEST socket as suggested above.
The router configuration is showing a slight improvement in the downstream.
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:16:48
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,084 / 7,456
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 7,424
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 0.00 / 34.73
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 11.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 2.0 / 6.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.0 / 15.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 4 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 4 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2,037
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

I do connect wirelessly :S so i'll wire my laptop to the router and report back.
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: What should my upload be?

OOOPS  Undecided How embarrassing!

Wiring the laptop to the router has given a better result. Surprising though as there aren't any walls separating the router and the client (4m). Are TG585 v8 routers 802.11b/g/n?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: What should my upload be?

That's more like it, an upload of 0.37Mbps is about right for an upload bandwidth of 448Kbps.   Smiley
While it is true that connecting by wireless may give slightly lower results doing download speed tests, your downloads are currently being limited by the 6000Kbps IP profile which is calculated from the bandwidth.
Based on your router stats, the bandwidth should be something like 8128Mbps but is being knocked down by those FEC errors.
So your objective now is to try and identify and eliminate any source of errors, such as electrical interference, and then hopefully the bandwidth should rise.
It is worth leaving the router continuously switched on for a minimum of 72 hours in the TEST socket, and then report back what the indicated bandwidth says, after the exchange has seen minimal disturbance on your line for a period of time.
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: What should my upload be?

Great!
Thank you for your time and support.
I'll post back in a few days with the results Smiley