cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the master socket

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

What is the master socket

I keep seeing posts from members of staff asking that the router is plugged directly into the master socket (sometimes also asking that nothing else be connected) as this will show that the internal wiring isn't a problem
The NTE5 master socket looks like this

and connecting to this still leaves your internal wiring connected
The correct procedure is to remove the lower section of the faceplate exposing the test socket
Only then is the internal wiring in the property isolated and the fault shown to be elsewhere
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/master-socket-guide.shtml
Quote
4. Should I connect my router to the test socket?

Exposing the test socket disconnects your internal wiring, making it the only active telephone point in your property.
The only time we'd recommend this would be to help diagnose a broadband fault. Otherwise, you shouldn't need to.

Can I ask that when the requirement is to connect to the Test Socket that should be clearly stated as that is not the same as the Master Socket
23 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: What is the master socket

Indeed it should be the test socket they're asking to plug into. Which staff members was it, Jim? Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: What is the master socket

PM sent to avoid embarrassment  Lips are sealed
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: What is the master socket

this may sound a daft question Crazy
but from what i read on the forum is that 90% of problems are due to this socket ,, i must admit that my own has never been connected in the original socket , and is perminantly in the test socket , so bascially i have a half open socket .
as in jims lower photo  Wink
the point is ,, Why dont BT fit a socket where removing half of it becomes unneccssary  Huh.
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 175
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: What is the master socket

it is neeeded to disconnnect  the rest of your house telecoms wiring for testing
Fax machines, telephone extensions, answering machines, etc.  Cheesy
Some people on this forum say they don't use landlines for comms at all. VOIP and mobiles instead. But they are in the minority I think  Roll eyes
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
198kHz
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 3,440
Thanks: 403
Fixes: 11
Registered: 30-07-2008

Re: What is the master socket

Quote from: Joanne
Indeed it should be the test socket they're asking to plug into.

While we're ensuring that procedures are correct, might I suggest that when a customer is asked to connect the router to the test socket, they are advised to de-power the router first?
Remember you are unique - just like everyone else
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,743
Thanks: 801
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: What is the master socket

It would be interesting just to see what percentage of people actually have a test socket.
It seems to me that most of the people asking on these forums, ask because they don't have one. Like myself.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: What is the master socket

@billnotben - why don't you start a new thread with a poll ?
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: What is the master socket

my master socket - and it works - 14M synch
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: What is the master socket

some stropy person on another thread has just stated he hasn't got the displayed NTE5 split plate, his is the new one that BT supply?, any ideas?
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Registered: 14-08-2009

Re: What is the master socket


? I wonder if the stroppy one has one of the new  "external NTE5's".  As fitted on new builds
These are then connected to some normal Line jack socket inside
So there is NO user accessible "Test socket" available
See bottom of this page
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/btsockets.htm
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: What is the master socket

that looks possible, makes life difficult for us
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Registered: 14-08-2009

Re: What is the master socket


Not half!
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 175
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: What is the master socket

I am amazed how many people on here don't use landline phones etc at all just mobiles and VOIP. For them all they will ever need is one socket and an external NTE5.
Is this the future?
Smiley
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,743
Thanks: 801
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: What is the master socket

Quote from: PeterLoftus
Is this the future? Smiley

No the future is living on the moon and wearing a silver jumpsuit.
Though that prediction is running a decade or so late. Smiley