cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What can cause 9 second ping times?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,227
Thanks: 494
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

What can cause 9 second ping times?

I re-connected my broadband this morning, and ended up on a gateway with almost no connection and over 9 second ping times.
Before gateway hop I was on 195.166.130.164 lo0.10.central10.pcl-bng03.plus.net
PING 212.159.6.9 (212.159.6.9) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=9957 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=5 ttl=60 time=8957 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=6 ttl=60 time=9158 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=8 ttl=60 time=8757 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=12 ttl=60 time=9258 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=13 ttl=60 time=10257 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=14 ttl=60 time=9458 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=15 ttl=60 time=9258 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=16 ttl=60 time=9456 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=17 ttl=60 time=9656 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=18 ttl=60 time=9648 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=21 ttl=60 time=10448 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=24 ttl=60 time=10337 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=25 ttl=60 time=11436 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=28 ttl=60 time=12133 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=30 ttl=60 time=11124 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=31 ttl=60 time=10724 ms
--- 212.159.6.9 ping statistics ---
61 packets transmitted, 37 received, 39% packet loss, time 60123ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 8757.638/10727.016/12595.827/1035.255 ms, pipe 13
After gateway hopping I got onto 195.166.130.165 - lo0.10.central11.pcl-bng03.plus.net
ping -c 20 212.159.6.9
PING 212.159.6.9 (212.159.6.9) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=19.9 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=19.9 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=3 ttl=60 time=19.8 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=4 ttl=60 time=20.2 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=5 ttl=60 time=19.9 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=6 ttl=60 time=20.2 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=7 ttl=60 time=19.4 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=8 ttl=60 time=19.8 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=9 ttl=60 time=19.7 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=10 ttl=60 time=19.2 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=11 ttl=60 time=19.5 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=12 ttl=60 time=19.5 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=13 ttl=60 time=19.7 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=14 ttl=60 time=19.9 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=15 ttl=60 time=19.8 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=16 ttl=60 time=20.1 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=17 ttl=60 time=20.2 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=18 ttl=60 time=19.8 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=19 ttl=60 time=20.1 ms
64 bytes from 212.159.6.9: icmp_seq=20 ttl=60 time=19.5 ms
--- 212.159.6.9 ping statistics ---
20 packets transmitted, 20 received, 0% packet loss, time 19026ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 19.296/19.840/20.221/0.314 ms
I do currently have an open phone fault with BT, and currently can't answer the phone unless I pick up both phones, but any ADSL line errors don't really explain the high ping times. Unfortunately I forgot to check if the IP address I landed on was being flooded with traffic from the previous user of that IP.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

As an aside. then I hope that if you have an Openreach engineer attend your premisses, you get your "star" wiring and Master socket sorted out. That problem has existed for far too long.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

Quote from: ejs
I do currently have an open phone fault with BT, and currently can't answer the phone unless I pick up both phones, but any ADSL line errors don't really explain the high ping times.

Chances are that this engineer sorts it. Fingers crossed anyway.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,227
Thanks: 494
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

The phone line went completely dead last week, and something was fixed outside our property on Thursday (no need for an engineer to visit us), and it must have been working then because they phone up to tell us it was fixed. I can't think of anything that could have initially fixed it but then fail in this odd way. Perhaps fixing something has unmasked a problem elsewhere.
The odd situation where I connect to Plusnet and get an IP address, but with an incredibly high latency and virtually no usable connection has happened occasionally in the past, but it's so infrequent that I don't usually investigate further, especially when I usually just want to re-connect the PPP session to get a working Internet connection.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

It doesn't really matter what has already gone on, if the engineer comes to your door, do not let him go away without sorting out the star wiring. Blag as much as you can, moaning about interference and whatever as well as the current issue and you can't ever test properly from the "test" socket to isolate things or find out what's going on because of the way it's all wired up.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

I used to get 2-3 second ping times when I had Satellite Internet many years ago ......
Large ping times could be a connection issue but could also be some antivirus / malware software intercepting the data, processing it and returning the result in a less than timely fashion (especially if you have a slow or heavily loaded machine)
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,227
Thanks: 494
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

In this particular instance, my laptop runs Linux, and the 9 second latency was resolved by re-starting the PPP session on the router. It could have been due to the netgear being in a weird state after leaving it with the PPP and ADSL down for half an hour (usually I also switch it off when shutting it down to test things, but I didn't do that this time).
Just for information, not asking for anyone's help, regarding the phone fault:
On Monday 16th Feb, I re-tested with only a single phone plugged into the master socket, and it didn't work. The previous fault was still open.
By Wednesday 18th Feb, BT had ignored the comment on the previous fault telling them the phone wasn't working, and closed the fault. I thought I had better unplug everything and re-test everything again. After the BT website ran a line test, plus me doing several ring back tests, it was possible to answer the phones again. I suspected the problem was temporarily fixed by the extra electricity sent down the line by the line test plus all those ring back tests.
On Friday afternoon, apparently the phone wasn't working again. Apparently this time the fault is in the exchange, and will be fixed by the end of Wednesday 25th Feb.
As for interference with the broadband, there's currently something that puts out some interference which typically gets switched on late at night or in the early hours of the morning, and switched off at some time during the morning, possibly combined with something else from 05:40 - 06:20.
Going on my previous experience of Openreach visits, consisting of, on separate occasions, each time for a telephone fault:
- re-do all the connections in the BT66 box, leave the sockets and AFAIK wiring set-up as is
- replace the old plastic BT66 with a new plastic BT66, leave the sockets and AFAIK wiring set-up as is
- disconnect one of the sockets from the line at the BT66
I think the only way I'm likely to get a modernised wiring arrangement is to:
- do it myself, which I gather I'm not allowed to
- switch to FTTC (while engineer installs are still being done) and hope the Openreach or Kelly engineer sorts it out then
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,048
Thanks: 4,341
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

One waits with interest to see what 17:00 on Wednesday brings you.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,227
Thanks: 494
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: What can cause 9 second ping times?

Since I currently have more or less normal ADSL, but no dial tone, I suppose it makes sense that there is a fault at the exchange, with my telephone line intact, connected to the ADSL equipment at the exchange OK, but the connection to the POTS equipment is bust - perhaps the splitter card is now that faulty.