cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to reduce box count

v12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-06-2014

Want to reduce box count

Hi, I'm a second day plusnet user and happy so far, except the hardware count. I used to be on regular broadband where my Netgear DGN2200 was able to handle ADSL modem and wireless router duties. I'm now on fibre and can just about accommodate the two box business of BT modem + 582N router but after finding the supplied router "somewhat lacking"  in the wireless department I ended up having to add in my old Netgear router as an extra wireless access point. That's three blinkin' boxes now.
The obvious 2 box option is to replace both the 582N and the Netgear router with a decent WLAN enabled wireless router - any suggestions?
But is there a 1 box option that replaces the BT modem as well?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,543
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Want to reduce box count

BT Homehub 5
Edit: You might find http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2014/01/broadband-router-options-uk-fttc-isps-integrated-vdsl-m... helpful.
I've seen a lot of good things said about the Asus DSL-N66U N900
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jamesanstee
Grafter
Posts: 475
Thanks: 5
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Want to reduce box count

I'd recommend the BT Home Hub 5 iv'e been using one since last november and never had any issues with it wireless range is excellent especially on the 5Ghz band and all fairly easy to setup.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Want to reduce box count

Looking at the spec for the Netgear, bit confusing as sometimes it refer to it as N300, that the port adjacent to the ADSL can be used as a WAN port. If that's the case you can used the Netgear in place of the supplied PN router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,543
Thanks: 788
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Want to reduce box count

http://www.netgear.co.uk/home/products/networking/dsl-modems-routers/dgn2200.aspx#tab-techspecs says "Ethernet WAN—Easy Upgrade to cable/fiber"
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
v12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-06-2014

Re: Want to reduce box count

Ah ha! - good spotting on the WLAN port. That should be just what I need, for now at least. Just my luck that in the two times I tried to get it to do PPPoE I randomly chose the wrong port.
v12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-06-2014

Re: Want to reduce box count

And back to square one...
The latest DGN2200v4 does have a WLAN port. My DGN2200v1 does not.  Cry
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/23900/related/1