cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VoIP phone stopped working

mnjufce
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 17-12-2014

VoIP phone stopped working

I have been using my voip phone for quite some time now and was a happy user. Today, it stopped working (signalling is fine, speech is missing), it seems that something in plusnet is blocking outgoing RTP packets from my phone to the address on the internet.
My firewall is standard on the router and set to off on Plusnet side and didn't change anything in settings in several months.
The same thing happened to my colleague who is also on plusnet.
Is something changed in the bigger network to block outgoing UDP/RTP?
9 REPLIES
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 683
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

Seems notice was given earlier in the yera that PN were discontinuing this service?
https://community.plus.net/forum/index.php?topic=140832.0
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,529
Thanks: 766
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

Mine's working fine.
Have you tried a router disconnect/connect to see if it works when you are on a different gateway?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
mnjufce
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 17-12-2014

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

I did try router disconnect/connect, I also tried changing the firewall setting on the plusnet side from none to low...
I am not using plusnet voip, I have a remote worker phone that I connect to companys pbx and has been working fine for years till now.
I do find it strange that UDP/RTP traffic from my internal network is getting blocked.
For the ones that use VoIP as well, which client do you use?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,529
Thanks: 766
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

I have a VoIP phone (Grandstream GXP1400)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,531
Thanks: 1,078
Fixes: 126
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

Using a tp link phone with sipgate is working fine.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,590
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

I've got a Yealink phone on a fibre line with a sipgate account, gradwell account and LocalPhone account on it and they all work fine.  I've another line (ADSL this time on a business account) which has 5 Yealink phones on it, all with a Gradwell account registered on it, and they are fine as well.
Phil
Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 61
Thanks: 2
Registered: 26-06-2007

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

Is it no audio or one way audio?
mnjufce
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 17-12-2014

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

I did some further troubleshooting. My SIP phone works. My H323 phone (remote worker doesn't).
It turns out that when we disable SRTP, it starts working. So, no speech (the phone doesn't send data to the server) is dependent on SRTP and it started happening on Friday for me.
At least, now I have a workaround that is not ideal - no security...
mnjufce
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 17-12-2014

Re: VoIP phone stopped working

And now SRTP works again... For both colleague and me (we are both on Plusnet and were using SRTP until this incident).
I really wonder what happened. Since the version of the switch in the office didn't change, the only other explanations is plusnet (people with different providers didn't experience SRTP issues).
Big thank you to everybody!