cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very slow Internet speeds

theron2
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 10-12-2013

Very slow Internet speeds

We have been with PLUSNET for a while now, but have got very poor internet speed both upload and download.
First things first
DSL Connection

Link Information
Uptime: 4 days, 23:32:11
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 12.044
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/MB]: 1,04 / 225,21

Speeds

UPLOAD:        9.85Mbps
DOWNLOAD:  0.37Mbps

PS: We live in S.E London and are around 800m from exchange and people living close are getting 20+ Mbps
Thanks
3 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Very slow Internet speeds

Can you post your full router stats as requested here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
It would also be useful if you could check them in the test socket as well
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,075
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Very slow Internet speeds

Hi Theron2,
Welcome to the forums.  The Plus Net staff are not in here after 5:39 Monday to Friday, so you will not get a reply from them until sometime tomorrow.
In the meantime, can you please post your full router stats, including SNRM, attenuation figures, error counts and connection time as available.  A comparison with neighbours is not always sound: their line might e routed differently to yours - a different trunk cable, cabinet card cold aka lot f difference.  We need to see the failed figures to advise further.
Have you done a BT wholesale speed test AND the further diagnostics section?
Edit: Jim just beat me to it!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Very slow Internet speeds

Hi Theron2,
Just tested your line, and there's nothing we can really do to improve the speeds as things stand given that your downstream SNR margin is already set to 3dB (as low as it can be). Best thing to do would be to ensure the router is in the master socket and that everything else plugged into the line is done so through a microfilter, if that's already the case though it's unlikely the speed can be improved at all. Bear in mind the route your line takes to the exchange may not be as short as possible.
We could however uncap your upload for free to around 1Mb if you wish?