cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VPN

NickMA
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-05-2014

VPN

Dear community - grateful if anyone can help.
I have recently moved to Plusnet and I often work from home. I've been experiencing difficulty connecting to work via a VPN and I've told that it's pro ably something to do with the VPN port I'm trying g to use. Does anyone have any ideas how I  can check this?
Many thanks
NickMA
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,534
Thanks: 774
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: VPN

Have you tried disabling the Plusnet firewall? https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall
Note you need to disconnect/connect after changing the setting.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
NickMA
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: VPN

Thanks Jelv. Just checked and the Plusnet firewall is switched off.
NickMA
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: VPN

Any other thoughts gratefully received as I'm struggling to get some work done. Not sure why when I was with Talk Talk I didn't have this issue.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,534
Thanks: 774
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: VPN

http://npr.me.uk/vpnissue.html might help if you are using the Plusnet supplied router.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
NickMA
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: VPN

I do have a Plusnet router Technicolor a TG582N and I've followed the instructions but it's not accepting my user name and password, which otherwise works fine  when I need to add a new wireless devices to the router. I've followed the Plusnet user name and password that came with the router and tried several times now. Is there a way to get this to work or should I simply buy a new router?
All4One
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: VPN

The username is 'admin' and the password is CPXXXXXXXXXXXXX all case sensitive for the router access. Got this correct? Smiley Tried another browser/computer?